Cory Collins’ Post

View profile for Cory Collins, graphic

Editor, Writer, Digital Strategist, and Personal Trainer

As I prepare to move abroad in support of my spouse's career, I left my job at Learning for Justice a month ago. Today, my last magazine story as a senior writer went live. I'm proud to go out on this one. This story was inspired by seeing a dominant narrative of rural communities playing out nationally: They were depicted as white, as passengers of history. They were left out of the conversations surrounding how we teach history. But the truth about rural communities tells a different story: a story of diverse communities who pioneered self-deterministic models of education. A story of how they were disproportionately shaped by the history some people in power are trying to erase. https://lnkd.in/gsDRsThV

Rural Schools and Hard History

Rural Schools and Hard History

learningforjustice.org

Noah Leavitt

Co-Director of the Career and Community Engagement Center at Whitman College and College Liaison for Community Affairs

2y

This is an extraordinary piece!

Monita K. Bell

Editorial Leader | Nonprofit Management

2y

Forever proud to know you and have done powerful work with you, my friend. What a way to go out! ❤️

Rhonda Sonnenberg

Senior Writer, Southern Poverty Law Center

2y

My best wishes to you and your spouse.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics