Tech Tuesday: A.I. & Agriculture

This edition of Tech Tuesday dives into the world of agriculture, A.I., and automation.
Published: Jan. 2, 2024 at 4:42 PM EST

GAINESVILLE, Fla. (WCJB) - Welcome to today’s Tech Tuesday, I’m Melanie Morón with UF Innovate, and we’re going to be diving into the world of agriculture, talking about A.I. and automation, and joining me is Dr. Charlie Li with the University of Florida. Dr. Li, thank you so much for bringing us to your lab.

Yeah, thank you for coming to our lab. Thanks for the opportunity to talk about A.I. and agriculture.

So, what is your role at UF?

Yeah, I’m a professor in the agriculture biological engineering department focusing on agriculture A.I.

Tell us about your research and your lab.

My lab is called BSAIL. We focus on developing A.I.-enabled sensing and robotics technologies to solve challenging problems in agriculture and food systems.

What robots has your lab created?

We have developed several agricultural robots focusing on phenotyping. Phenotyping means to measure physical, biophysical characteristics of plants.

How are you guys using A.I. and machine learning in your lab?

We leverage the latest A.I. techniques for 2-D and 3-D objective detection, segmentation, and multi-object tracking through video frames to measure the phenotypic traits of plants.

How is your research benefiting other industries in agriculture?

The technologies developed by my lab can benefit plant breeders, geneticists to breed crops with higher yield and better quality, and the technologies can also benefit growers to perform precision farming.

Well, Dr. Li, thanks again for bringing us to your lab and talking about your research.

Thank you so much for the opportunity to talk about agriculture A.I. and robotics.

And that’s another great Tech Tuesday. We’ll see you next week.

RELATED: Tech Tuesday: etectRx

Click here to subscribe to our newsletter.