SHIFT Nursing’s Post

SHIFT Nursing reposted this

View profile for Katie Boston- Leary, PHD, MBA, MHA, RN, NEA-BC, graphic

Nurse Executive | Hospital & Healthcare Executive | CNO | ICN GNLI Scholar | Nationally Recognized Speaker & Thought Leader | CHIEF Member

Dr. Boston-Leary is not only part of the documentary but part of the research as the director of nursing programs with the American Nurses Association. “The research that’s being done at the ANA and Robert Johnson Foundation is making a lot of nurses of color, including me, feel like we’re not alone. And it wasn’t just me, I wasn’t the problem. It’s validating.” Media coverage on the SHIFT documentary, Everybody’s Work. It’s been great to partner with Michelle Larkin and Kenya Beard EdD AGACNP-BC ANEF FAAN on promoting this film led by the marketing team at SHIFT. Link to the live recorded interview is here. https://lnkd.in/exaqUMPS

  • No alternative text description for this image
Pamela McCue

Nurse. Advocate. Chief Executive Officer of NursesMC.

1mo

Thank you, Dr. Boston-Leary. I look forward to viewing the documentary, and sharing about it on and off social media. I will also amplify on my page how critical it is to name and confront racism in our profession.

Glenda Paine

BSN, RN-BC, CCM, CMCN

1mo

Thanks for sharing. I apologize in advance for what you experienced and how you feel. Points well taken. As a Black woman from the very poor country of Belize, I had 2 unexpected encounters while attending my ADN program in 1993. Why? I believed because I came with 7 years of LVN experience and I was confident at that level in my nursing career, but it was obvious I was there to learn to be an RN. We had about 20 of us in the class & I was the only LVN and many of my classmates gravitated towards me, because by then, I did a lot and was an experienced LVN, mind you, that knowledge didn’t come overnight. I studied hard, listened and learned from others, hoping to one day pass it on. There’s more. I was given meds via GT to a patient in Surgical ICU, as I was giving the meds, I was going through the steps so my instructor knew, I knew the process. I wanted a good grade. To my surprise, then & there, she said, Ms Paine, I came from the University System. I’m used to giving orders, you as an LVN are used to taking orders. To say I was shocked and bewildered is putting it mildly. My psyche instructor said to me, know one from Belize has ever passed my class first time around. I did, she goes, Paine, you cooking with gas.

Like
Reply

“It’s giving us tools to do more than navigate it. We’re about addressing it, dismantling structures, taking our rightful place at tables we’re typically not wanted in, and opening the door wide for people that look like us to come into the profession.” 💯 💯  We couldn't agree more! Thank you, Katie Boston- Leary, PHD, MBA, MHA, RN, NEA-BC & Michelle Larkin.

Dr. Farah Laurent DNP RN NEA-BC NPD-BC CPXP CEN

NURSE CAREER COACH-Nurses hire me to gain CONFIDENCE to SLAY their INTERVIEW & land their dream position in 90 days or less! Org hire me to retain Nurses!! Author & Speaker! Featured on The Jennifer Hudson Show!

1mo

That’s right!! We are not here to “bow out” Katie Boston- Leary, PHD, MBA, MHA, RN, NEA-BC! Wonderfully said! Awesome interview to show that enough is enough! We need change now! And we need to encourage and support our new generation of nurses/leader to continue to advocate! We need a more diverse healthcare workforce! Thank you Katie Boston- Leary, PHD, MBA, MHA, RN, NEA-BC for sharing and being a catalyst for change!! 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

Dr. Valecia A. Baldwin DHA, MSN, RN, CDONA, IP

2024 Healthcare Leadership 2.0 Award Winner | Nurse Supporter | Leadership Coach | Keynote Speaker | People Before Profit Advocate | No Drama Enthusiast | Advisory Board Member Benadir University Somalia | Let's Connect

1mo

Katie Boston- Leary, PHD, MBA, MHA, RN, NEA-BC Your groundbreaking research on stress, burnout, and working conditions for nurses, especially people of color, is transformative. Healthcare GIANTS like yourself are paving the way for a more inclusive and supportive environment in nursing. Your dedication and insights are invaluable to the profession. Thank you for driving such important change. 💙 #NursesTakeTheLead

Dr. Farah Laurent DNP RN NEA-BC NPD-BC CPXP CEN

NURSE CAREER COACH-Nurses hire me to gain CONFIDENCE to SLAY their INTERVIEW & land their dream position in 90 days or less! Org hire me to retain Nurses!! Author & Speaker! Featured on The Jennifer Hudson Show!

1mo

Thank you for everyone who was a part of this such important film SHIFT Nursing! Katie Boston- Leary, PHD, MBA, MHA, RN, NEA-BC Dr. Monica R. McLemore Lucinda Canty, PhD, CNM, FAAN, FACNM Aron King, MS, RN Dr. Anna Maria Valdez Kim Ann Kim MSN, RN, CDCES Ernest Grant Tonja A. Copeland, MSN, RN, PHN and many others!! Thank you for sharing your powerful personal stories and insights!

kar kam

BS, BSN, PHN, CNPR, MCSE, MCP

1mo

Nursing is very bias field based on nepotism and favoritism, that is the reason why I quit this garbage field for a regular job to survive free of stress and animosity. I think that is the biggest mistake I have made in my life as a male going to nursing.

Like
Reply
Aysha Kuhlor MSN, RN, BA,PAC-NE

Chief Nursing Officer|VP Clinical Operations|Healthcare Coach|National Speaker|Healthcare Consultant |Strategist| LinkedIn Top Voice|Author|Healthcare Voices|

1mo

Such important work being done to support nurses of color, and great to see you involved in such impactful research. Katie Boston- Leary, PHD, MBA, MHA, RN, NEA-BC

Rollis Fontenot III

Spotlighting organizations & talent acquisition with video, tech & teamwork. We highlight your brand! 🚀

1mo

Congrats on your work, I look forward to watching it Katie Boston- Leary, PHD, MBA, MHA, RN, NEA-BC

Chad Tingle

Director | Producer | Helping Advertising Agencies, Branding Firms and B2B clients win hearts and minds.

1mo

Amazing!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics