GearJunkie’s Post

GearJunkie reposted this

View profile for Adam Ruggiero, graphic

Editor In Chief, Podcast Host at GearJunkie

When Rachelle S. offered to pen a personal essay on the “Choose the Bear” trend, I admitted I had no idea what that was. My lack of awareness for anything on social media is forgivable, but the lingering ignorance to the realities of sexual harassment and assault in the outdoors — or anywhere! — ain’t so easily dismissed. Applauding the writing on a topic that is so difficult to read feels strange, but the fact is this topic should never be easy to read, and Rachelle’s ability to tell this story with honesty, compassion, and edge undoubtedly makes it one the best stories GearJunkie has had the honor to publish. I hope you take the opportunity to read it in full. https://lnkd.in/gcDrFetR

I've Been Attacked by a Bear, and I Still 'Choose the Bear'

I've Been Attacked by a Bear, and I Still 'Choose the Bear'

https://gearjunkie.com

Coral Darby

Founder at Darby Communications

1mo

Adam, thank you for highlighting Rachelle's unbelievable article. I am in awe of her courage, willingness to be vulnerable, and writing prowess. My daughter lives out west and often hikes alone. As her mother, this panics me, but after reading Rachelle's article, I have more respect for my daughter's desire to do so. I will share this article with her not to scare her but to remind her of the importance of backcountry preparedness and awareness of one's surroundings. As the comment below points out - Wow! Rachelle S., thank you for writing this article.

Like
Reply
Rachelle S.

Editor ↟ Hunt & Fish ↟ GearJunkie

1mo

Incredibly kind of you, Adam. Thank you 🙏🏼

Richard C.

The one willing to say what many other people are thinking. Book Author. General Consulting Public Relations, natural resourcess/or recovery from alcohol and drug abuse...

1mo

,"Courage to write this...support for your making this available to others that are healing--Rachelle"..

Like
Reply
Amanda Kool

Head of Legal, Sharebite 🥙 Attorney, Consultant, Kentuckian 🌎 Fan of Bringing Big Ideas to Life 💡

1mo

You're such a badass, Rachelle S. - this difficult, beautiful work you do matters. And thank you for sharing this piece and your perspective, Adam Ruggiero.

Michelle Gandola

Brand, Content, Marketing, and Communications | CCA - California Board Member | ASA - Sustainability Co-Chairman

1mo

Rachelle S. Thank you for writing this.

Austin McInerny

Mediator/Facilitator/Counselor

1mo

Sad, but necessary story. Thanks to Rachelle for her courage and honesty.

Like
Reply
See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics