BLUE TURACO COFFEE’s Post

BLUE TURACO COFFEE reposted this

View profile for Wycliffe Sande, graphic

Founder at Blue Turaco Coffee - Championing Ugandan Specialty Robusta: Making coffee accessible, empowering small-holder coffee farmers, and fighting childhood hunger through coffee and wildlife safaris

You won't believe this, but I met him face to face. Yes, we even had filter coffee together. Last Friday was a huge day for me, one that has been five years in the making. The week had started off with some disappointing news about the cancellation of the Birmingham Coffee Festival. I was going to give a talk there on the specialty robusta revolution. So you can imagine my excitement when James Hoffmann said yes to meeting on Friday the 5th. I went into overdrive with excitement. And for a good reasons For those into tech, your dream person to meet might be Elon Musk or Mark Zuckerberg. For me, there are a few legends in the specialty coffee world I’ve always wanted to meet, have a coffee with and talk about how we can change the coffee world together, for the better. Last Friday, I met one of them. A special, pinch-me moment. I was humbled and way too excited to meet you, James Hoffmann Thank you, Barney😜 Mauleverer for making this happen (more on this another time). I’m an outsider in the UK coffee scene; I’m a smallholder farmer (you don’t get many of those living this side of the equator), and I’m championing specialty robusta (when the specialty coffee market has been focused on arabica - for better part of last 3 decades. So, there are a few people in this industry I am keen to meet. People like you, yes you have an important key part in helping more customers access specialty and premium robusta and myself and BLUE TURACO COFFEE team are eager to make this happen. This, in turn, will impact millions of smallholder coffee farmers in Uganda and world over. No-one gets anywhere alone. Collaboration is what we need - in fact it could be the BIGGEST single thing to Make the biggest difference! So I’ll be reaching out. I hear your fears and worries, but I have a solution to those worries and fears. If you see my name in your DMs, it means you mean something to the robusta revolution. James, I learned so much during our chat, and I can't wait to meet again and again. Thank you.. You turned what was looking like a challenging week into a great one. Ps: lets connect if we are not yet Wycliffe Sande - I talk about speciality robusta coffees sustainability, smallholder farmer issues fighting hunger through coffee #metjameshoffman #blueturacocoffee #foundermeetups #collabrations

  • Blue Turaco coffee founder standing with James Hoffman founder of squaremile coffee roasster.
Wycliffe Sande

Founder at Blue Turaco Coffee - Championing Ugandan Specialty Robusta: Making coffee accessible, empowering small-holder coffee farmers, and fighting childhood hunger through coffee and wildlife safaris

2w

Can you see my excitement?

Krunal Mistry 🌶️

Building Tastesmiths (and learning to write 1-sentence paragraphs)

1w

What a legend. James Hoffmann seems like a cool guy too

Noemi Babos

Associate Bioinformatician at M:M Bio | Drug Discovery Ecosystem

2w

Keep it up!

Natosha Wallace, MBA

Global Risk Transformation | Founder of The Boon Project - Agriculture with a Purpose | Regenerative Agriculture | Hemp4Hope & “Sustainable” Poverty Alleviation

2w

So amazing! We are working to help our farmers in Bugiri to adopt GAP and improve their quality! We are working with Clare Rwakatogoro who is a former UCDA turned consultant and Q robusta and Arabica grader. We have over 3000 farmers and now we keep working to improve their quality. Would love to stay in touch. We are praying for them to be speciality quality with all the hard work they are putting in.

Rosie Long (Baulcombe)

MD at Blue Turaco Coffee | Start Up & Scale Up Consultant

2w

So very tall. And knowledgeable etc etc etc

Bartholomew Jones

Founder - CEO at Cxffeeblack LLC / 1M Streams 🥇Best 🎥 in Coffee 2023 🥇Most Notable Roaster 2024 🥇Innovator of the Year 2024 📰 VICE / BLACK ENTERPRISE / SPRUDGE / NPR / COOL HUNTING / CUISINE NOIR / TRIP ADVISOR

2w

Congratulations fam!! Excited to follow your journey!

George Driscoll

Global Digital PR Lead at Remitly

2w

This is great! Congrats Wycliffe

Hannah Nunn

Wholesale and subscription coffee supplier. Non profit social enterprise. Direct from the farmers. Looking for partners.

1w

Amazing - I love your last sentence - fighting hunger through coffee. When I visited Mt Elgon in January the small hold farmers spoke alot about the hunger months and their every day stuggle. We value the farmers and are very precious about every single coffee bean ❤️

Like
Reply

Wait - James Hoffmann is that tall?

Like
Reply
Arthur Csertus

Co-Founder & CEO at Cobalt Sign 📱 Building Apps for Millions of People on iOS & Android

2w

Fantastic news!!! ❤️

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics