Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

nepalisherpa

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Aug 15, 2011
USA
Hopefully, this might help folks who are on the fence on whether to get a cellular iPad or not.

This is my first time owning a cellular iPad. I was not sure if I would ever need cellular since I always have my phone with me and can use the hotspot feature if I ever need internet on my iPad, however, I bought a cellular version because the discount I received would make it about the same price as the wifi version.

Anyway, last night, our internet provider had an outage for about four hours (the longest so far). AT&T is also very spotty where we live. We just use wifi calling so it has never been an issue. This was my opportunity to checkout cellular on my iPad. I signed up for a 3GB/30 days plan through MobiMatter. After activating the service, I was able to switch the carrier to T-Mobile (which has better coverage in our area). I was able to get connected and enjoy the internet once again during the outage.

This made me realize that, while I can use my phone as a hotspot, having a cellular iPad will give me an option to have an alternate carrier whenever I need it. I am very glad that I chose to get a cellular iPad this time around. :)

nepalisherpa

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Aug 15, 2011
USA
In fairness, pretty much all iPhones support dual SIM so you could have also installed the MobiMatter eSIM to your phone.

Still, it’s nice to have options.
True, but, then you have to go through the settings and select which plan to use for data. It's doable but takes extra steps. I know...first world problem. :D

Also forgot to mention that eSIM on the phone could be locked depending on how the phone was purchased.

Last edited:
Reactions: harshar and Parowdy

Richard8655

macrumors 68000
Mar 11, 2009
Chicago suburbs