Knoxville couple at center of viral kidney match video writes book, attracts movie deal

“The worst thing that ever happened to me is the reason my dreams are coming true 30 years later.”
Heather Winfree used a Topps baseball card to tell her sick husband Steve that she was a match to give him her kidney in 2017.
Published: Jul. 4, 2024 at 5:55 PM CDT

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WSMV) - Steve and Heather Winfree, whose story went viral in 2017 after Heather used a baseball card to tell her sick husband she was a match to give him a kidney, have written a book about their transplant journey. And it’s attracting the interest of Hollywood.

WSMV4 followed the Knoxville couple through their successful double transplant surgery at Vanderbilt University Medical Center.

The couple said over the last seven years they’ve experienced some expected ups and downs.

“When you have a transplant, in case people didn’t know, it’s not a cure, it’s a treatment,” said Steve. “You get sick a lot easier cause you don’t have an immune system.”

“But it’s nothing compared to dialysis,” Steve added.

The drain of dialysis -- and the depression that often comes with the common treatment for kidney disease -- is something Steve details in the couple’s book, The Rookie Recipient.

“I have learned very quickly that allowing yourself to be vulnerable, to have some of the most personal things out there, it makes them feel a little less alone in their journey,” Steve said.

“I think social media, it paints this perfect world that we all want it to look. I want to show that life, it’s not perfect, but it can be a great life,” he added.

Life for the former foster parents of six now includes two-year-old Levi.

“Levi came to us through the incredible gift of embryo donation,” Heather explained. “We struggled for ten years with infertility. My heart knew I could love children that weren’t biologically my own. But I desperately wanted to carry a child of my own.”

The Winfrees recently received word of another dream-in-the-making: Knoxville actor and director Cylk Cozart wants to make a movie about their story.

“After three hours and a gentleman’s handshake, we have sold the movie rights,” Steve said. “The worst thing that ever happened to me is the reason my dreams are coming true 30 years later.”

“Dreams and blessings can be disguised within your pain,” he added.

“I just want to tell people, don’t give up,” said Heather. “Your dreams might be right around the corner. The world needs you.”