Filed under:

Ex-UFC fighter Marc Diakiese signs deal to join PFL roster

UFC Fight Night: Fernandes v Diakiese Photo by Pedro Vilela/Zuffa LLC via Getty Images

Marc Diakiese has a new home in the PFL.

The 15-fight UFC veteran inked a contract to join the PFL roster with plans to fight in 2024 and then join the season-long tournament starting in 2025. PFL officials announced the signing on Saturday during the PFL Europe event from the United Kingdom.

“I am proud to call PFL my new home, and I can’t wait to get started,” Diakiese said in a press release. “I plan to debut in the SmartCage later this year to announce my arrival to the roster, and then I will enter the regular season where I’m coming for that $1 million dollar prize money.”

“I back myself at lightweight, and I’m coming for everyone. This weight class is mine for the taking, and I feel the PFL Championship has my name all over it in 2025.”

The move comes after Diakiese spent seven years with the UFC after first debuting with the organization back in 2016. During his time with the UFC, Diakiese went on a rollercoaster ride with numerous ebbs and flows over the years.

He started his UFC career with three straight wins and then dropped three fights in a row. Diakiese never built more than a two-fight win streak again, but he also never lost more than two in a row either.

His UFC career ended with a split-decision victory over Kaue Fernandes back in November 2023.

Now, Diakiese gets a fresh start with the PFL where he looks to make waves in individual fights for the remainder of the year before advancing to the PFL season in 2025.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the MMA Fighting Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of all your fighting news from MMA Fighting