YONDR’s Post

YONDR reposted this

View profile for Katie Dellamaggiore, graphic

Documentary Filmmaker

On my first research trip to Green Bank (in the National Radio Quiet Zone) my cell phone turned into a useless brick. No cell service, no Wi-Fi for miles. There was no scrolling in line at The Dollar General or at the Observatory’s cafeteria. I had to go back to my room to plug in and upload any photos that I wanted to post on social media—and by then, I didn’t feel like I needed to share them anyway. Over the 8 years I spent making the film, I noticed how much time I spent on my phone, and it didn’t always make me feel good. After Small Town Universe premiered at the Cleveland Int’l Film Festival, I asked the audience if they wanted to spend less time on their phones and nearly everyone raised their hands. This still resonates with me. Now that I’m not filming in Green Bank anymore, I need to make a conscious effort to unplug. It takes effort. But every time I do, I always feel better. Now, I’m so excited about our partnership with YONDR to create phone-free screenings of Small Town Universe, starting at the Roxie Theater in San Francisco on June 2. With YONDR audiences will have the opportunity to disconnect from their phones while we’re in the theater together. Then, afterward, we’ll have a chat with film subjects and Bay Area SETI scientists. And then after that, everyone will get their phones back. Will people say it felt weird? Maybe. Will they want to do it again? I think so! Thank you YONDR for helping us create what will certainly be a very special and memorable cinema experience!

  • No alternative text description for this image

I love this!! Can’t wait to see your film next week!

Dave Lavender

Telling A New Story for WV with Film and Apprenticeships for @wvdevo #film #madeinWV #filmWV #Apprenticeships #WV #NewStoryWV

1mo

I truly love that you're doing this. We were just up at GBO for some of the Blenko shoot and some other location scouting and the peace of that Quiet Zone is real! This is such a cool way to share some of the magic of that place during Small Town Universe screenings.

Like
Reply
Shannon Russell

Career Transition Coach helping women produce their best life, by starting a business of their own! -Founder, Second Act Success®, YouMap® Coach, Host, Second Act Success Podcast, Speaker, LEGO® Serious Play® Facilitator

1mo

Incredible!!!!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics