Jevon (Jiehan) Yang’s Post

View profile for Jevon (Jiehan) Yang, graphic

I help you own your work-life narrative ⭐️ Conversations around a more empathetic and engaged Future Of Work 💬 | TheMondayPlaybook | Dyson | Ex-DOW | Ex-PwC | Ex-DT

A while ago, a boss came to talk to me about employee disengagement You see, he was new to the team, inheriting 3 direct reports (I wasn’t one of them). About 2 months into his job, I got to know him through a project I was working on, and he invited me out for tea. After the usual formalities about what I was doing and what he was hoping to create in his team, he broached the subject of his team members. “Do you know Ah Siang?” (name changed for confidentiality reasons) Err yeaa…… “This Ah Siang, how is he at work ah? When I was trying to tell him this and that, he just looked at me with a blank face, as if he didn’t understand what I was trying to say. Did you know he has been a senior for 3 years? Maybe his performance is bad, that’s why he got stuck in his job is it.” This boss went on a “complaint spree” with me, an associate at work whom he had just met for the first time in person. If he had waited for me to complete my response, he would have realized that “Ah Siang” was a good buddy of mine. . #1 RULE: Never gossip about an employee to a buddy of theirs. . But that’s not what this post was about, so let’s carry on. Considering that he was a superior, I tried to navigate the conversation as best as I could. “What was it about his performance that was subpar? Did he mess up the closing work he was supposed to do?” (p.s. I knew Ah Siang was involved in doing closing work. In fact he had been doing it for the past 3 years) . “Oh don’t get me started. He doesn’t take instructions properly, and doesn’t communicate well with the stakeholders. He always leaves on the dot at 6PM, but is usually in late at around 9:30AM. He doesn’t follow up on exciting projects that I tell him about, its as if I’m trying to give him something good for his career but he’s just not into it.” . At this point in time, I’ve heard enough to know what was going on. It’s not that he’s not into it, Perhaps he’s just not into YOU. . That was what I wanted to tell him. Instead, I smiled. 🙂 :::::: Have you ever considered that perhaps that “disengaged employee” in your team, is simply disengaged to you? Would you try and turn this around? How? ——— I am Jevon and I write about nurturing a growth mindset, fostering empathy and engagement in the Future Of Work, and parenthood lessons. If you are reading, Thank you! Hearing from you would be nice 🙂 Like/ Comment/ DM/ Shout/ Follow/ Reach out! #employeeengagement #futureofwork #empatheticleadership

  • No alternative text description for this image
Choo Ann NGOH

🏆I help accounting and audit firms get paid in 30 days instead of 365 🚀 Digitalizing professional services firms 🔥 Online Payments 💲 Fintech 💳 Startup💡 CEO 📢 Ask me how we sold 450% more in 50% of the time ⚡

1w

(raises hand) 🙋♂️but but but it was a good opportunity to try to douse the flames 🔥wor, no meh Jevon (Jiehan) Yang? Maybe both are tuned into different frequencies? 🤷♂️

Timothy Gleeson, CPA

Surfer / Business Services / CPA / Tax Agent / Property Investor / CNC (Chief Nappy Changer). MAD (Making a Difference). No Crypto

1w

OK Jevon (Jiehan) Yang, Leave us hanging on the edge of our chair. Yep, he's not that into every team player. I get it and there is no point getting information from others who may not like the person. The boss should go and have a direct conversation with Ah Siang 🙆🤷🙋

Bernard Foong, CFP®, Affiliate (ACCA, TEP)

I provide advice on Total Wealth Management to entrepreneurs, affluent families and professionals

1w

Everyone has different priorities and priorities change over time as people react to new circumstances. Instead of trying to put others into our shoes, it may be better to put ourselves in others shoes - empathy. Guess that's why we have 2 ears and 1 mouth. Listening and discerning skills are key to engaging "disengaged employee".

Zi Kit Toh

I help your emerging leaders shave years off their learning curves

1w

HAhaha bring this up all the time. I hear of leaders complaining that "young people" are not interested in the industry, or refuse to work hard, .... yet they've never considered perhaps they just don't like the environment. Engagement starts person to person - people don't leave jobs, they leave managers

Lee Ying Qin

I inspire learning, pastoral care and career guidance | RP Mentoring, Peer Support, Design Your Life (DYL) | SEG Pastoral Care, Student Development, Education & Career Guidance (ECG) | Family

1w

Jevon (Jiehan) Yang Learning from you, the "art" of recounting incidents, while balancing the message and protecting the innocent. It feels both ways, that both parties might not be listening and leading to not agreeing to each other. Interesting that he chose to speak to you.

Cindy Tien, EQ Maven, CSP

Inspiring Sales & Leadership Teams to Break Through BS and Turn Hurdles into Hallmarks | Titanium Hipster | Emotional Resilience Speaker | Certified Speaking Professional | Exec Coach | Imageworks Associate Director

1w

This is funny and kind of true. One of the NLP presuppositions say that ‘Resistance is a Sign of a lack of rapport’ and this sound like it.

Roland Tang

Assistant Operations Manager | Jabil

1w

I guess a conversation would have helped, instead of a just raining the instructions down. And agreed, gossip is bad. Thanks Jevon.

Harsh Johari

I help ambitious leaders build strong Executive Presence so that they get rapid career growth and coveted CXO roles I Executive & Leadership Coach I Learning and Development | Training | Talent Management

1w

It sounds like you encountered a delicate situation! It's important to consider that perceived disengagement from an employee may stem from various factors, including miscommunication, mismatched expectations, or even interpersonal dynamics. 

Lester Chng

Executive Ghostwriter helping Cybersecurity firms secure 24/7 inbound leads via content | Senior Cybersecurity Advisor | LinkedIn Ghostwriter for Cyber CEOs and Founders | Author | Naval Officer | CISSP | 🇨🇦🇸🇬 |

1w

Why you didn’t help ah Siang

Janice Tee

Unlock your power position, and turn your online audience into paid clients and business opportunities!

1w

A good wake up call for everyone in management Jevon (Jiehan) Yang - the ownership is always on YOU first before others!

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics