Carryl Pierre-Drews’ Post

View profile for Carryl Pierre-Drews, graphic

EVP & Chief Marketing Officer, Board Member

Streaming is surpassing cable, and it's likely due to the control that viewers have over what they watch and when (along with other factors). I know I sure do subscribe to quite a few services which gets expensive. IAB CEO David Cohen told Axios, "I think that there's a lot to be said for the power of the bundle. Consumers are not going to subscribe to seven or eight things, they simply can't afford that." We have to start adding layers. Investing in streaming isn't enough — we also need to add bundles that make financial sense to consumers who are now faced with the task of choosing which services they can afford. #IAB #Streaming #Bundles #StreamingServices

Streaming is the new cable

Streaming is the new cable

axios.com

David Hawkins, CISSP, CTPRP

Pre-Sales Solution Engineering | Solutions Architect | Consulting Engineer

3w

What I don't understand is why we have to have 100 channels I literally only watch 4 shows total on broadcast TV. Who cares about all the other stuff if you don't watch it? Take Apple streaming. I watch Foundation, Invasion, and Ted Lasso. Now only Foundation and Invasion. The rest? Not my cup of apple sauce. Disney's Marvel and Starwars universes are so poorly written now that it doesn't really appeal. Paramount? Only one Star Trek Title is really in production anymore, and it is the only reason I subscribe to Paramount. Want some loyalty? Create 25 episode seasons again. Stop ending a show after 12 episodes. I would literally subscribe to a SHOW, if I thought I could. I would 100% skip channels. The reality is that I am a Sci-Fi/fantasy/adventure fan. I don't care about news very much, or anything else. My wife loves cooking shows. You could literally package up a Cooking/Sci-Fi bundle for my household, and I would cancel everything else. Market to everyone, get a smattering of hits. Market to a designated specific audience and you get an addicted person for very long periods of time.

Francis Lind

Senior Network Systems Engineer

3w

So essentially the whole reason we left Cable to avoid paying for 110 channels that we may have watched only 10 is coming back. At the moment I subscribe to 4 services Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime and Max. I see no need to bundle Disney+, ESPN or a bunch of other services in. I cut the cord to allow ala carte purchasing of services I actually watch and now I see they are now working on a way to force me back to paying for unwanted things almost as if they need that revenue to keep those things afloat. If your service can't get enough subscribes to be profitable perhaps you need to let it go. Granted that would probably kill things like ESPN off but why force consumers into buying things they never utilize?

Like
Reply
Matthew Wilder

Senior Sales Executive-Kyriba | Supporting CFOs & CIOs thru Digital Transformation of Liquidity Management

3w

You could see this coming from 100 miles away, it's not just the expense it's the customer experience, never forget the customer experience and making it easy to access something with minimal hassle.

Like
Reply
Lynn O'Meara

Strategic communicator who thinks outside the box

3w

I routinely start and stop subscriptions whenever a show I've been eagerly anticipating premiers and when the show is done. The subscription fees add up, so I've limited my streaming to Amazon Prime and Paramount. I'm tired of the subscription model as it's become cost-prohibitive.

Like
Reply
Tim Angbrandt, MBA

Marketing/Branding Consultant, MBA

3w

We have been streaming since 2011 and it has been a great ride. But, we will not spend a fortune on that experience going forward.

Valeriana Colón, Ph.D.

Learning Scientist | Future-proofing orgs with IT process innovation

3w

Juggling seven streaming services? I need a bundle to keep my wallet from streaming tears!

Joseph McCorvey

Risk Management Professional

3w

Years ago, I could see the "re-bundling" coming.

Daniel Riding, MBA, MS

Consultant for Senior Leadership Development

3w

I heard reading books is making a comeback...

Like
Reply
Jeff Frick

Engagement in an AI Driven, Asynchronous World | Builder | Top Voice | Video Virtuoso | Content Curator | Host, Turn the Lens podcast and Work 20XX podcast

3w

One of the oldest patterns on earth Bundle, Unbundle, Bundle, Unbundle

  • No alternative text description for this image
Like
Reply
Lucie Newcomb

Global Business/Market Entry Expert |Boards | Transformational Leadership

3w

Helpful, thanks, Carryl. We don't watch the majority of what Cable providers offer and have found streaming services more cost-effective. Fascinating from an advertising perspective.

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics