💥 Amy Kean 💥’s Post

“Your words are too direct.” “Your tone is too blunt.” You have no idea how many women I work with who KEEP receiving this feedback. And honestly? You have no idea how much this feedback is hurting them. Why? Because it’s vague. It’s subjective. It’s making them question their entire character, making them believe something is wrong with them, and making them second guess every single word they use. You have no idea how often it’s women giving other women this feedback. And it has to stop. Feedback like “you’re too direct” aimed at a woman plays into the most archaic stereotypes that women must be soft, and appeasing. That we have to be lovely all the time. And that female social groups have to be cute and laden with compliments in order to thrive. Let’s look at the alternative to being “direct”. Is it better to never say what you think? Is it better to bitch behind people’s backs? Is it better to be passive aggressive? Is it better to tap dance around every point, making meetings last twice as long because no one really wants to commit to anything? Is that preferable? I wouldn’t say so. Or are we seeing a trend where the average majority are simply gaslighting the honest ones, because they’re terrified of feedback. They’re terrified of facing up to the reality that they might not be perfect. Being blunt and direct, when facts are being stated, is literally just telling the truth. Eek. So, when it comes to well-intentioned people who have - in the eyes of average society - a tone that is too direct, instead of a bunch of toxic behaviours associated with being unable to actually speak your mind… I know who I’d rather work with. My ego can handle a challenge every now and again. 

Alex Tanner

Media Planner | Brand + Performance Marketing | Yoga Teacher | LinkedIn Certified Marketing Expert

2w

100% this. Particularly for those of us who fall on the neurospicy spectrum, we like to keep things clear and get to the point. If someone wants something from me, I just want to know exactly what you want and when you need it by, I don't need it to be preluded with loads of small talk or for it to be sugarcoated in any way. Yes, there are some people who are actually just rude and use the excuse of "oh I'm just direct", but it's completely possible to be direct without being rude. It's possible to be direct and still be friendly. It's possible to be direct and still be good at your job (in fact, it makes me more efficient). "Directness" is actually just clear, confident communication, which is something we should be celebrating rather than discouraging.

Vicky Quinn Fraser

The MicroBook Magician: Write your book. Amplify your voice. Make a bigger impact.➡️ Your first draft in 30 days with Book Coach In Your Pocket!

2w

Oh my gosh 💥 Amy a thousand percent this. And I’ll add — for those of us who are autistic and/or adhd, this is SUCH a challenge. I have ALWAYS struggled to read social situations and this is a big part of the problem. I take things at face value and that has caused real problems (and a lot of hurt on my part when I’ve thought someone was complimenting me but was actually being super mean). And when someone is beating about the bush or whatever, or being sarcastic, I often genuinely don't understand what they’re saying or think they’re being serious. Say what you mean. Say it clearly. Clear is kind (as I think you said somewhere else in this thread).

Kristin Engard

Freelance Marketing & Media Strategist and Advisor | Empowering startups and scale-ups with marketing and advertising expertise and leadership to drive efficient growth

2w

I absolutely love this post. I’ve always been told I’m too direct. I tried to be ‘less’ but would always get frustrated as I felt I wasn’t getting my point across. With fewer words, a direct statement is so much easier to understand. I appreciate bluntness in others. Now I just tell people upfront that I’m direct and that’s just how I speak so don’t take offense.

Sophie Lee

Become Electric ⚡️Story-driven marketing for vibrant founders & SMEs | They cannot love you if they don't know you — I get you seen | Keynote speaker & facilitator | f:Entrepreneur #ialso100 '24

2w

A client once called me opinionated. I'm a consultant and he was literally paying for my opinion. I told him, why would you pay me so much money to tell you you're right? You're paying me to tell you the truth. I genuinely don't think many male consultants have been called opinionated for doing their job well

Selina Yankson

Impact Activator & Career Strategist for Life-First Corporate Leaders | Own Your Zone of Genius | Double Your Impact, Influence & Authority.

2w

You are always ‘too’ something when someone is threatened by your message, personal presence or intellect. You are ‘too’ direct when you stand up to bullies You are too direct when you say NO and don’t give a tonne of explanations You are too direct when you don’t start a sentence with ‘I’m sorry but…’ You are too direct when you stand up for yourself and claim your personal power. Thanks 💥 Amy Kean 💥 for this reminder to continue to be ‘too ‘ something or another that means I can claim my space and personal peace.

Nadine Drelaud

Ex: Google, PayPal, Microsoft, Skype | AI Product CEO | Transformation Director | Head of Delivery | Women in Tech | Agility | Pragmatic Agile | Product Delivery Consultant | Making the complex simple 🌶️ 🏳️🌈 🏴

2w

🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 🙌 ... not once in my nearly 30 year career have I heard one single guy be told 'you're too opinionated' but trust me I have met many that are waaay more opinionated than me, yet I can't tell you how many times i've been called: bolshy / forthright / too opinionated / rude / abrupt / too blunt / rottweiler / insert other negative spin on 'straight forward & honest' here

Gemma Cubitt

Performance Coach - providing exec coaching and business advisory alongside training and development for your teams

2w

Hell yes! Add that to “you’re emotional” and this is my career history! But…when I coach people in this area now I focus on intent first. If your directness is delivered with positive and genuine concern/support/passion for the other person or topic, then crack on but if it is self orientated or with the aim to wound then consider why you’re doing it. If someone starts a sentence with “I’m just being honest…” or “no offense but…” it’s a 🚩 for me!!

Peter Franks

Partner @ Neon River | Technology and Games Industry Headhunter

2w

So the direct feedback on being direct is too direct for the people with a direct style? I don't get it If you're direct with people don't be offended when people are direct with you

Sarah Tate

Coach helping leaders unlock change in their careers & organisations | Facilitator & Speaker | Ex Google Leader

2w

My personal favourite was 'your voice is too loud'. Apparently, it meant I was not open to receiving feedback. When pressed, he was unable to give any examples other than a meeting where it was on record that, while I may have spoken passionately, I was also the only person present who had changed their mind as the result of hearing feedback from my peers. You had better believe I sent him a bunch of HBR case studies on common biases against women in leadership.

Sarah Langslow, MBA, PCC

Transforming committed managers into confident, high-impact leaders through 1:1 Executive Coaching | Leadership development | Professional Speaking | Team Coaching

2w

To paraphrase something I saw on another platform, women don’t suffer from an excess of directness, they suffer from an excess of experience in how the world responds to women who are direct when they speak…

See more comments

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics