‘I thought I had been impaled’: Metal object crashes through windshield hitting driver

A metal object crashed through a windshield and hit the driver. (Source: KSL, Hope McCurdy, Easton Family via CNN Newsource)
Published: Jul. 9, 2024 at 11:29 AM CDT

MURRAY, Utah (KSL) - It is a fear that some drivers may have: a piece of road debris crashing through your windshield.

For one driver in Utah, that fear became a reality and it was all caught on camera.

Hope McCurdy said her routine drive on I-15 took a horrifying turn.

“I didn’t see it from the beginning,” she said. “But there was a moment when it did come into my vision.”

A 9-inch by 2-inch heavy piece of metal crashed through her windshield.

“Flew at me like a ninja star. It popped through and hit me in the chest. I thought I had been impaled. I didn’t know if I was OK for a moment,” she said.

With shards of glass in her eyes and cuts on her face and chest, McCurdy pulled over and showed troopers what crashed into her windshield, hit her and landed in her lap.

McCurdy said the object is her survival souvenir.

“I was lucky because as it spun through the air, it hit my windshield flat. If it had come through like this, I probably wouldn’t be here today.”

Last year, the Utah Highway Patrol responded to more than 18,000 calls related to road hazards. Authorities said 420 of those caused a crash.

Last year, the base of an office chair went crashing through a windshield.

“It’s definitely one of the strangest things that’s ever happened to me and one of the most miraculous things I’ve probably walked away from,” McCurdy said.

Now, she is pleading with drivers to secure your load and check your undercarriage so something like this does not happen to anyone else.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, about 730 people are killed each year because of objects in the road. The majority of crashes involve unsecured loads on passenger vehicles.