Jim Schlossnagle accepts head baseball coaching role at Texas

Texas A&M head baseball coach Jim Schlossnagle at the College World Series
Texas A&M head baseball coach Jim Schlossnagle at the College World Series(Tyler Shaw)
Published: Jun. 25, 2024 at 5:19 PM CDT

COLLEGE STATION, Texas (KBTX) - The day after Texas A&M finished runner up at the College World Series, head coach Jim Schlossnagle is leaving to become Texas’ next head baseball coach.

Texas A&M posted these statements on X (formerly Twitter) Tuesday night.

“After our baseball team arrived back in College Station earlier today, Jim informed me of his desire to leave Texas A&M,” Texas A&M Athletic Director Trev Alberts said. “While we are certainly disappointed, we are grateful for his contributions in helping our baseball program reach unprecedented heights. Baseball success is important to everyone associated with Texas A&M, we will not stop in our pursuit of excellence and our commitment to baseball will not waiver. On behalf of Texas A&M Athletics, we wish Jim and his family well as they move on to another challenge. We will find a great leader and excellent coach to head up this proud Aggie baseball program.”

KBTX News 3 at Ten(Recurring)

Statement from Jim Schlossnagle: “I would like to thank General Welsh, Trev Alberts and the 12th Man for an incredible experience during my time at Texas A&M. Although I know many will be upset with my decision, I chose to make a change to join a longtime friend to continue my career as a college baseball coach. The run to the National Championship game was truly a remarkable one this year, and I will savor the memories and true friendships I have made there for a lifetime.”

Schlossnagle worked with now Texas Athletic Director Chris Del Conte when they were both at TCU.

The Longhorns announced their firing of head baseball coach David Pierce Monday morning, just hours before Texas A&M and Tennessee squared off in a winner-take-all matchup for the College World Series title.

Speculation then emerged regarding both Jim Schlossnagle and the Volunteers’ head coach Tony Vitello.

Moments after his team lost in the College World Series championship game, Schlossnagle was asked about rumors circulating Texas’ job opening.

TexAgs reporter Richard Zane referenced the “rumor circulating today about a specific job opening” before asking Schlossnagle about his future in College Station.

“I think it’s pretty selfish of you to ask me that question, to be honest with you. I left my family to be the coach at Texas A&M,” exclaimed Schlossnage. “I took the job at Texas A&M to never take another job again, and that hasn’t changed in my mind. I understand you got to ask the question, but I gave up a big part of my life to come take this job and I’ve poured every ounce of my soul in this job and I’ve given this job every single ounce I can possibly give it so write that.”