‘I cried like a baby’: Mother brought to tears after Central Texas man replaces her son’s stolen bike

KWTX News 10 at 5PM
Published: Jun. 25, 2024 at 5:42 PM CDT

MCGREGOR, Texas (KWTX) - A Central Texas boy who had his bike stolen wasn’t without wheels for long after a stranger saw his mom’s post on social media and surprised the 8-year-old with a new bicycle.

Landyn Swaim, of McGregor, was heartbroken when he walked out of his friend’s house where he was playing only to discover someone had stolen his bike.

The incoming fourth grader at McGregor Elementary rides his bike every day. He rides it so much, his mom, Paige Harrison said, it no longer had breaks and Landyn used his feet to slow down.

Paige aired her frustration on social media with thieves.

“Some people can be scum of the earth,” she posted on the McGregor Texas Neighbors Facebook page. “I could cry. I’m upset. My son is upset. Do better. Quit stealing children’s things.”

A few miles away in Crawford, Brian Nystrom, who is the owner of the new O-SO Clean Express Carwash in McGregor saw the post.

“I was counting my blessings two nights ago while laying next to my eight-year-old son after a long day full of work and baseball practice,” Brian said. “As my son drifted off to sleep, I got on Facebook and saw the post in McGregor about the little boy’s bike being stolen. My heart broke.”

Brian Nystrom and his family.
Brian Nystrom and his family.(Courtesy Photo)

Brian reached out to Paige and told her he wanted to get her son a new bike.

The gesture brought the mom to tears.

“I cried like a baby,” Paige said. “His kindness to do this for my baby is beyond a blessing.”

Paige decided to surprise Landyn, so she took him up to the carwash where the bike was waiting along with an O-SO Clean hat, sticker, and a new bike lock.

Landyn couldn’t contain his thankfulness or excitement.

Landyn riding his new bike.
Landyn riding his new bike.(Courtesy Photos)

“My bike got stolen and my friend Brian gave me a new bike,” Landyn said. “I’m really excited, and I’m really glad that they gave me a new one and I’m now all happy.”

“The little boy was so sweet. He gave me a hug, a huge smile,” Brian added. “All my employees are now hoping to see him around the car wash this summer.”

Landon is already back on the bike enjoying his summer days in McGregor, but he says he will be more cautious with his ride.

“I can’t wait to lock it and ride on it,” Landyn said.

The O-SO Clean Express Car Wash is located at 605 W McGregor Drive in McGregor.

Nystrom is in the process of building a second location in Gatesville which will open in early 2025.