Jace LaViolette closing in on A&M's all time career home run record

Jace LaViolette nears in on A&M all-time home run record
Published: Jun. 22, 2024 at 7:58 PM CDT

COLLEGE STATION, Texas (KBTX) - Texas A&M baseball is known for hitting the long ball.

The Aggies are in the top five nationally with over 130 home runs on the year and Jace LaViolette has contributed 28 of them.

Jace LaViolette is known for hitting home runs. His first ever long ball came in T-ball.

“They let me run the bases, but they made me go back to second base,” Jace LaViolette said. “I was kind of confused there, but had one there. That was pretty cool. I don’t really remember the moment much, but I remember that I hit one.”

The outfielder had 21 home runs as a freshman with three coming in one game at Mississippi State. He has 28 and counting as a sophomore.

“Last year I put a lot of emphasis on trying to be perfect when this is a very imperfect game,” LaViolette said.

LaViolette is on the door step of breaking the career home run record, which is 56 total home runs, held by Daylan Holt

Holt played for the Aggies from 1998-2000.

“I don’t really try to look to much into records and stats and I just try and have as much fun I can and have as much fun with the team,” LaViolette said. “If anything happens that’s really cool. It’s all part of the team helping me out and me helping the team out by just honestly having fun.”

Holt was in town for the Vanderbilt weekend this season for a 1999 team reunion where Jace hit two home runs and ironically they both represent number 17.

“I actually got a chance to meet him in the locker room after the game, and I just told him congratulations and it’s been really fun to watch him,” Daylan Holt said. “At 6′6″, 240 he’s just a huge human being, and do I want to hold on to it sure.. that would be fun that would be cool, but the way that he’s going and the pace that he’s going at the career home run record is his. He’s going to get that one which is really cool.”

Jace hasn’t hit a home run since game three against Arkansas in middle May.

It’s just a matter of time when he breaks the 25 year long record, but he doens’t want his legacy to hang on records.

“Honestly I just want people to look at me and see how much fun I have,” LaViolette said. “I could care less if they’re like he was so good.. that all comes with the game, but honestly I’d rather have people know me for my personality and knowing me for being a good human being.”

LaViolette is returning next year because he’s not draft eligible.