Central Texas girl celebrates birthday by asking for donations to Waco animal shelter

Published: Jun. 12, 2024 at 5:43 PM CDT

WACO, Texas (KWTX) - A Central Texas girl had her 11th birthday party and instead of asking for gifts for herself, she asked for donations to Fuzzy Friends Animal Shelter in Waco.

Leah Attai had a poolside birthday party at Ridgewood Country Club to mark her big day. On her invitation it read “Please no gifts, accepting donations of squeaky dog toys for Fuzzy Friends.”

Her eighteen guests came through in a big way as Leah collected sacks full of dog toys of all sizes.

“My family and I delivered the dog toys to Fuzzy Friends and it was so fun to meet all the employees and see all of the animals,” Leah told KWX.

Leah doesn’t have an animal from the rescue, but she does have two dogs and she loves animals of all kinds.

She said seeing her own pups happy with their toys inspired her to collect toys for those awaiting their forever homes.

“I did it because I love animals and I have two dogs of my own, Ginger and Pepper and I love seeing them so happy when they get to play with their dog toys, and I wanted to bring that same happiness to the dogs that are waiting to get adopted,” Leah said.

Fuzzy Friends said they were so touched by Leah’s selfless act of giving to them on a day that should be about her.

“It is so inspiring to see philanthropy starting at a young age,” the rescue said. “She was so sweet when she came in and made our day. Our rescues are so proud of her and thankful for her gifts.”