State troopers surprise son of fallen DPS Trooper Chad Walker at his graduation

Published: May. 30, 2024 at 5:39 PM CDT

GROESBECK, Texas (KWTX) - More than a dozen state troopers lined an entire wall of a high school auditorium to support the son of fallen State Trooper Chad Walker at his high school graduation over the weekend.

Trooper Chad Walker was shot and killed in 2021 when he stopped to help what he thought was a stranded motorists on the side of the road in Mexia.

His oldest son, Ethan, 18, had no idea that 16 troopers in full uniform would be there to cheer him on as he crossed the stage May 24 at Groesbeck High School.

Ethan received his diploma and then walked the length of the stage before Groesbeck Superintendent Anthony Figueroa pointed over Ethan’s shoulder at the troopers standing nearby.

(Courtesy Photo)

When Ethan saw the law enforcement members, he pointed at them and gave them a huge smile.

“Seeing all the troopers on the wall at my graduation just really meant a lot to me, because I remember after my dad’s accident that all the trooper family was just there to help you feel supported and they didn’t leave you alone at all,” Ethan said.

Ethan’s mom, Tobie, knew the troopers would attend but kept it a secret from her son.

She said having what she called “a wall of Texas Tan” gave her so much comfort in an otherwise exciting but sad time.

(Courtesy Photo)

“I’ve tried to sum up what my momma heart has felt and there just aren’t words,” Tobie said. “I was flooded by emotions walking into our son’s graduation without his daddy by my side. When I turned the corner to see our blue family show up, I was left breathless but also felt so much peace.”

Ethan said he felt the same love.

“You just always felt the love coming from them, so it was pretty amazing seeing all of them show up for my graduation,” Ethan said.

Ethan was able to visit with the troopers and take some pictures after graduation.

Ethan will spend most of the summer in Boston for an internship with an engineering company.

He will start college at Blinn College in Bryan in August with plans to transfer into Texas A&M and pursue a degree in business.

(Courtesy Photo)