Classroom Champions: Holland’s Brittany Morgan

Updated: Apr. 9, 2024 at 10:00 PM CDT

HOLLAND, Texas (KWTX) -Holland softball star Brittany Morgan is a goal-setter. In case you can’t tell, just ask her about her batting average.

“I set myself a goal of above .500,” said Morgan. “I like hitting, and that means one out of two times, you’re hitting the ball and getting on base, so I set myself at a .500 or more.”

A .500 batting average, that’s a pretty impressive mark. Though, the most impressive thing about Brittany is her ability to teach others. Her head coach, AJ Walker, says she helps her teammates on a daily basis.

“That’s everyday,” said Walker. “That’s everyday on the field and everyday at practice. At different times throughout her career, she’s always been the third coach. She’s always been the coach on the field, and the kids have looked up to her early on. She’s been a great player for us.”

“Since I was little, I was like, ‘that’s something I want to do,” said Morgan. “I want to teach. I want to teach children and students how certain things are done. I also want to coach, so that also puts it into there.”

Brittany ranks fourth in her senior class and plans on studying education to become a teacher and a softball coach.

In the fall, she’ll begin playing softball at Concordia Lutheran in Austin, just right down the road from all of her teammates that look up to her.

“Since I’m only going to Concordia, I told them they’re my family,” said Morgan. “I told them I’d come back every Saturday game that they have and they’re like ‘Yes, please don’t leave.’”

“She’s already mentioned to the girls of coming back and kind of being around and being a part of the team when she can,” said Walker. “Anytime you can be a college athlete and still come back to high school and not outgrow where you came from, it’s a positive thing to have.”

“I had one girl tell me, she was like, ‘I don’t know if I want to play when you leave,’” said Morgan. “I feel like everybody is gonna look up to me.”

Congratulations to Brittany Morgan, you’re a Classroom Champion!