Cosmic Cowboy Eclipse Festival kicks off in Hillsboro ahead of the Great American Eclipse

Published: Apr. 5, 2024 at 10:47 PM CDT

HILLSBORO, Texas (KWTX) - Friday was the first night of the Cosmic Cowboys Eclipse Festival in Hillsboro ahead of the Great American Eclipse on April 8.

The country music festival featured performances on Friday from artists like Jake Worthington, Chris Janson and others.

One of the vendors at the event, Leticia Ferrer, told KWTX that she has been to more than 20 eclipses since the 1990′s and encourages people to experience this one.

“I do get a lot of ‘what do you do’ and rather than talk about my work I tell people I chase total solar eclipses,” Ferrer said. “I feel like the most blessed person on the planet to see something so beautiful and magnificent.“

Pat Green headlines the event tomorrow, Saturday April 6, and tickets for the festival are still on sale.