Classroom Champion Kelsey Newland of Rudder High School

Classroom Champion: Kelsey Newland
Published: Mar. 28, 2024 at 6:18 PM CDT

Rudder, Texas (KBTX) - News 3 Sports would like to congratulate our latest Classroom Champion Kelsey Newland.

The Rudder High School senior has a 4.5 grade point average and ranks 8th in her class.

Kelsey is a Bryan ISD Student Ambassador, participates in National Honor Society, a Junior Leadership Brazos Graduate, and earned NHSCA Academic All-American every year in high school.

“She’s always on top of making sure everyone has what they need If they’re out,” said math teacher William Hicks. “These athletes, they’re busy. They got so much time out late that they get pulled out or after school. They just don’t have time for it. And she, like, made sure that she could find time to do it. So I was really proud that she pushed through. Like, particularly when the season got kind of tough for that.”

“I try and find a path to stay on, to lead me to the success and look forward to the bright things that end up in the future,” said Kelsey Newland. “If I do the hard and difficult things now, I feel like seeing myself as a big leader really like makes myself feel good. Kind of helps me hold myself to a higher standard.”

Athletically Kelsey plays softball for the lady rangers. In 2023 she earned Offensive Player of the Year and second team All-District.

“I never have to worry about what she’s doing,” said head softball coach Torey Dumont. “I know whether I’m watching her or my back’s turned to her, that she’s giving 100% of herself to the drill. Making sure her teammates are doing the drill correctly. She’s going to hold herself accountable as well as the others. Wherever she’s at, she is trying to learn and better herself. And that’s really what I want for everybody. I want everybody to learn how to make progress and hold it within themselves to do so.”

After high school, Kelsey plans on attending Texas A&M and majoring in business where she has been accepted to Mays Business School.

Congratulations to Kelsey Newland of Rudder High School. This weeks News 3 Sports Classroom champion.