Child therapist helps people at work and saves pets when off the clock

This week's Be Remarkable takes us out to McGregor, where a therapist helps people when she's at work and saves pets when she's off the clock.
Published: Feb. 16, 2024 at 2:47 PM CST

McGregor, Texas - This week’s Be Remarkable takes us out to McGregor, where a child and adolescent therapist helps people when she’s at work and saves pets when she’s off the clock.

“I started McGregor Paw Patrol because we noticed an issue in the community. I’m not originally from this area, I’m from the Dallas area and I moved to McGregor and noticed an issue and I said, I think this is something I can do something about,” Katie Chadwell, Be Remarkable Winner.

Katie Chadwell’s servants heart beats for animals and humans alike, and her work produced some serious results in 2023.

“So, my friend Brooke and I started McGregor Paw Patrol and we work with our animal control officer and we’ve networked with a bunch of other rescues and we’ve been able to help over 110 dogs this year alone.”

As for her mission as a therapist, that also appears to be a 24-hour a day effort.

“Here I work as a counselor for kids, and I started a gang prevention program called Gaps for kiddos as well under 18 to help prevent gang membership.”

The Daniel Stark Be Remarkable Award celebrates folks in the community who see a need and step up, making Chadwell the perfect recipient.

“She would do anything for anybody, and she’d give you the shirt off your back if you needed it. And she just, you know, inspires me to do better and be better,” Kim Jukes, Nominator.

And her selfless attitude - that impacts so many others - is exactly why she got a visit from the good folks at Daniel Stark Injury Lawyers.

“Be Remarkable is one of the core values of Daniel Stark. Also, when we started this campaign and thankful to partner with KWTX to just highlight remarkable people in our community for inspiring others who are humble and are just spreading that energy and love into the community. We just want to recognize you,” Claudia Yanez, Daniel Stark Injury Lawyers.

If you know of a Remarkable person, nominate them at www.kwtx.com/BeRemarkable. And if you want to get out on the front lines like Mary, contact your local VA.