Classroom Champions: Rogers' Nicole Mucha

Updated: Jan. 30, 2024 at 10:00 PM CST

ROGERS, Texas (KWTX) - Rogers senior softball star Nicole Mucha is a role model for others.

“I think it’s important to set examples for younger girls because I was that girl at one point,” said Mucha. “I was like, ‘Oh my gosh, I want to be like her.’ And I feel like now it’s good to set an example for kids because they want to be like me, and it just makes me feel good.”

Since she began her softball career at Rogers, Mucha has established herself as one of the district’s best pitchers. She has multiple first team all-district honors and she was even named 19-3A District Pitcher of the Year as a freshman.

Her softball coach, Kami Flores, says her team looks up to her.

“A lot of my younger players know she’s our pitcher, they’re ready to play for her and play behind her,” said Flores. “She likes to have fun, but when we have to be locked in, she’s locked in.”

Mucha is also a standout student. She’s ranked fourth in her class and is even an officer for the National Honor Society. Mucha has also taken several dual credit courses, where she managed to maintain a 4.0 GPA.

“Not only do you have one set of work, but you have another, and you just have to sit down and do it,” said Mucha. “Sometimes it’s late at night and when you get home from practice, it’s already dark outside and you have to sit there. It’s hard, but you gotta do it.”

She plans to attend Blinn College next fall to pursue a degree in dental hygiene.

“I love talking to people,” said Mucha. “I couldn’t be the person that just shows up and does the same thing every day and sees the same people. I feel like if you’re a dental hygienist, you see different people everyday, you see different stuff. Plus, I love talking, haha.”

Congratulations to Nicole Mucha, you’re a Classroom Champion!