Classroom Champion Lindsey Gooch of Iola High School

KBTX News 3 at Six Weekday EXTENDED(Recurring)
Published: Jan. 25, 2024 at 6:43 PM CST

Iola, Texas (KBTX) - News 3 Sports would like to congratulate our latest classroom champion Lindsey Gooch. The Iola High School Senior has a 3.9 grade point average and ranks 2nd in her class.

Lindsey is an FFA officer and has raised three champion steers. She’s also lead builder on the robotics team and active in National Honor Society, Student Council, and more.

“She’s so well rounded. That’s one of the things i love about Lindsey the most,” said Debbie Lero AP calculus teacher. “She wants to understand what she’s doing as she completes her assignments.”

“My dedication isn’t something that I feel like I have to force upon myself,” said Classroom Champion Lindsey Gooch. “I feel like my parents installed that into me and its just kind of like a second nature to me to just if I know I can do better why am I not doing better?”

Athletically, Lindsey is captain of the volleyball team, plays basketball, and runs cross country and track for the Bulldogs.

Lindsey has helped win two state volleyball championships at Iola and was named state MVP this year. In basketball, she’s a three-time academic all-district first teamer, and in cross country, she’s qualified for state three times.

“Everybody wants to win, but few people want to do what it takes to win and Lindsay wants to do what it takes to win,” said head volleyball coach Jaimie McDougald. “Not to be successful is not an option for Lindsey. She’s going to work till she’s successful at anything she does.”

Being a champion runs in the Gooch family – Lindsey’s sister Amanda took home the honor in 2014.

Lindsey wants to attend East Texas Baptist University to continue her education then transfer to Texas A&M for Vet school.

Congratulations to Lindsey Gooch. This week’s News 3 Sports Classroom Champion.