Classroom Champions: Rockdale’s Mason Willard

Updated: Jan. 23, 2024 at 10:00 PM CST

ROCKDALE, Texas (KWTX) - There are not many kids who grind harder than Rockdale’s Mason Willard.

“It’s hard, I’ll admit it,” said Willard. “A few less hours of sleep. I actually can’t tell you (how) because I have no idea how I actually do it.”

Willard has a lot on his plate. He’s in more clubs than you can count, volunteers at his church, he works at Gatti’s Pizza during the summers, all while playing four sports, where he’s earned All-District honors in all of them.

Willard is currently in the middle of basketball season. Rockdale head coach Sean Lexima says he’s his go-to guy.

“He’s a player coach, what I don’t see he catches,” said Lexima. “He knows different opportunities for people to get subbed into a game that he recognizes. Very self aware, and he holds his teammates accountable. And he holds his teammates accountable and they hold him in high regard with his opinion.”

Perhaps the most impressive thing about Mason is his mind.

He’s ranked third in his class, making nothing but A’s all throughout high school. He’s also a history buff and has extensive knowledge of the history of American wars, something that’s been a passion of his for a long time.

“It’s how people actually get into the wars,” said Willard “Is it political? Is it territory? What actually happened in the war? And how people reacted to that and what new machines and weaponry were made. It’s all interesting.”

Mason plans on attending Texas Tech University next fall to study history. He’s still deciding if he wants to one day become a history teacher and a coach or a war historian. Whatever he decides, one thing’s for sure, Willard will be on his way to success.

“Again, he’s gonna do great at whatever he puts his mind to,” said Lexima. “I think he would make a wonderful coach, I honestly do.”

“I just want to be a person that people can turn to,” said Willard. “If you need help with this certain problem, I can help you out. I’m not going to give you the answer, but I’m going to teach you through it. And I feel like if more people would accept that fact instead of just trying to get their spot, I feel like it would help a lot.”

Congratulations to Mason Willard, you’re a Classroom Champion!