Local veteran makes sure veterans are seen and respected

This week's Be Remarkable takes us to Waco, where a local veteran makes sure our service members are seen and respected for putting their lives on the line.
Published: Jan. 12, 2024 at 1:28 PM CST

WACO, Texas - This week’s Be Remarkable takes us to Waco, where a local veteran has been making sure our service members are seen and respected for putting their lives on the line for America.

It’s a mission that was molded by George Banks’ personal experience.

“I can spot a veteran from a mile away and I will stop; are you a veteran?  Thank you for your service, welcome home. It means, excuse me a second,” George Banks, Be Remarkable Winner.

The emotional work for this week’s Daniel Stark KWTX Be Remarkable Award winner doesn’t stop with his brethren in the armed services, it continues with folks who just might be slipping through society’s cracks.

“I go to Marlin, to the prison, every Monday,” George Banks, Be Remarkable Winner.

George’s ministry has become a fixture throughout prisons in Central Texas, as he supports the incarcerated throughout McLennan, Coryell, and Bell Counties.

“What moved you to start this ministry?”

“I’ve been doing this for 20 years, I got back from Veit Nam, landed at the airport at La Guardia, I had eggs thrown on me, I had people spitting on me, I felt like I went from one war to another - and I felt I was not going to let another veteran go through this,” George Banks, Be Remarkable Winner.

George also has a Christmas Card drive, which just wrapped up another successful season, distributing more than 8-thousand cards to people in places that might otherwise not get any love over the holidays.

For all this and so much more, he was honored by the good folks at Daniel Stark Injury Lawyers.

“We just want to help a little bit and donate to your cause with this $500 check here,” Claudia Yanez, Daniel Stark Injury Lawyers.

“You know how many Christmas cards that will buy?”

If you know of a Remarkable person, nominate them at www.kwtx.com/BeRemarkable.