Portland Thorns gear up for Pride Night at Providence Park

Winners in six of their last seven matches, the Portland Thorns are back from a two-week international break to host a big one on Saturday night in Soccer City.
Published: Jun. 7, 2024 at 8:22 PM PDT

PORTLAND Ore. (KPTV) - Winners in six of their last seven matches, the Portland Thorns are back from a two-week international break to host a big one on Saturday night in Soccer City.

They are 6,1 and 0 under interim head coach Rob Gale, as this new era of Thorns footy is blooming into championship form.

“Hopefully we’ll prove once again why this team is the pride of Portland,” Gale said.

The pride for the Portland Thorns is back at a fever pitch.

“I have to realize what a privilege and position I am in for as long as I’m in it and I am going to enjoy it to the fullest,” Gale said.

SEE ALSO:

Star forward Janine Beckie has a summer bucket list of a shield, a trophy, a medal and a ring.

Saturday night should be a sweet one with North Carolina at Providence Park where more than 20,000 are expected at a place Portland hasn’t been in a month.

“When you talk about the Portland Thorns, a big discussion topic is the fanbase and I think we just feel extremely lucky for the support we get in the city and also it being Pride Night I think the support that community gets in the city is really special and it’ll be cool to see everyone out there,” said Jessie Fleming.

Canadian team captain Jessie Fleming seeks another Olympic gold and that fourth star on the kit for PTFC.

“I think women’s football in general is in really exciting place right now, so it feels like a bit of a whirlwind but yeah, I definitely need to take more opportunities to stop and just appreciate how lucky I am to do what I am doing,” Fleming said.

An Olympic summer also nears in Paris for the league leader in goals, Sophia Smith.

“I stop to think about that all the time about how very fortunate and we’re in a great place, we don’t want to peak fully yet,” Smith said. “We want to peak when it’s time to peak but I feel like we’re heading in the right direction and we’re in a good place right now.”

Come as you are, wave the flag and represent your country - these Thorns have three more home matches before sending the Olympians to Paris after the 4th of July.