Portland Thorns gear up for gameday with Rob Gale as interim head coach

After the Portland Thorns started their 2024 season in last place, the 3-time league champions will enter match day on Saturday with a new interim head coach.
Published: Apr. 19, 2024 at 5:39 PM PDT

PORTLAND Ore. (KPTV) - After the Portland Thorns started their 2024 season in last place after one month of play, the three-time league champions will enter match day on Saturday with a new voice as head coach.

U.S. National Team player and Thorns star Sam Coffey said, “There is such pride for this club, and I think that we’ve been lacking that a little bit in these last few games but it’s something we’ve been really intentional about and coming back to this week.”

Three losses and a draw has brought change within the club structure as assistant coach Rob Gale takes over as interim head coach while Mike Norris shifts to technical director.

“I went around his house for beers and tears, and I think there was more tears from me,” Gale said. “If you get to know me, I’m not one to hide my emotions and I’ll cry at a good romantic movie.”

The 46-year-old Gale is the guy for now while a global search to find the sixth head coach in club history is fully engaged.

“Anybody who knows me, I don’t change much, my attitude, my enthusiasm, my passion, energy, my just sheer delight to be out every day with the players is why I’m here,” Gale said. “Whether that’s assistant coach, interim coach, you could get me sweeping the stands, I’ll be here as excited because I am in professional football and what a privilege.”

New ownership didn’t buy the Thorns to be last place in the league and they shouldn’t be for long.

Thorns captain Christine Sinclair said she’s known Gale for a long time through the Canadian team.

“The energy he’s brought these first few days, it’s infectious and you can just sense it in training that the team is excited to get going and kind of get season started,” Sinclair said.

The three stars on their kit means Portland has been there, done that, and the championship hunger always burns to be one club beyond.

Coffey said the team is a group of winners and champions.

“I know coming together over what has been really hard I think is only going to make us stronger and I have nothing but faith in our team,” Coffey said.

Gale said, “Don’t forget how we started last season and how close we came to winning it, we’re not far away. I don’t want anybody to forget that or reflect poorly on Mike Norris because he is a great football man and a great football brain and he’s the only reason I’m here and continue to be.”

The refocused Thorns aim to climb out of the NWSL cellar with Saturday night’s main event against Houston at 7 p.m.