Rose Festival names 2024 princess from Benson Polytechnic High School

The 2024 Rose Festival princess from Benson Polytechnic High School is senior Laedyn Romero, festival organizers announced Friday.
Published: Mar. 22, 2024 at 6:29 PM PDT

PORTLAND Ore. (KPTV) - The 2024 Rose Festival princess from Benson Polytechnic High School is senior Laedyn Romero, festival organizers announced Friday.

Laedyn expects to graduate this June and is considering becoming a trauma nurse, an EMT or an OBGYN.

“I’m honored to join the Rose Festival Court because I hope my story will inspire others,” Laedyn said. “I have overcome many challenges, including experiencing houselessness and navigating learning disabilities. These experiences have taught me resilience, and a softness I think is important when we are connecting with ourselves and our communities. No matter the obstacles or how many times we might fall, we can achieve anything we set our minds to.”

High School Activities & Honors:

Senior Class President, Varsity Track & Field, Soccer Team, Native American Culture Club, CommuniCARE

Hobbies and special interests:

I am a member of a hip-hop dance team, and practice aerial silks and hula-hoop, I also find joy in drawing and doodling, working with children and participating in TrackersPDX.

What are you most proud of during your high school career? I’m proud of my growth, especially during my freshman year amidst the pandemic. Juggling online learning and helping with my newborn brother, I overcame learning disabilities and transformed my approach to education. Having always struggled with school, this was a turning point for me. I finished the year as the top student in my class, and have since taken several AP classes, which once seemed out of reach.

What is your favorite Rose Festival event and why?

My favorite event is the Starlight Parade, and it’s not just the floats and lights. This parade holds a special place in my heart as a symbol of magic and hope during a difficult chapter in my life.