Rose Festival announces 2024 princess from David Douglas High School

The Rose Festival on Tuesday announced the Princess from David Douglas High School is Mari Franco Morgado.
Published: Mar. 20, 2024 at 1:31 PM PDT

PORTLAND Ore. (KPTV) - The Rose Festival on Tuesday announced the Princess from David Douglas High School is Mari Franco Morgado.

Mari is a senior at David Douglas High School and expects to graduate this June. After graduation, Mari will pursue a career as a travel nurse.

The Rose Festival Court, presented by Unitus Community Credit Union, includes 15 outstanding students from Portland, Metro East, and Metro West high schools. The Court provides higher education scholarships funded by The Randall Group, promotes volunteerism, facilitates networking, and encourages an appreciation for the history and traditions of the Portland Rose Festival. Throughout the season, the Court will travel across the state to learn, volunteer, and participate in community and Rose Festival events.

Mari joins the court representing herself, her school, and her community. She says, “Representing the 2024 Portland Rose Festival Court would allow me to give back to my community & help others who look like me know that so much is possible.”

Looking ahead to the Portland Rose Festival, Mari’s favorite event of the season is CityFair. She says, “My favorite Rose Festival event would have to be the CityFair, which is held down by the waterfront because I love seeing local businesses there as well as all the food and rides since I am such an adrenaline seeker.”

Learn more about Mari below.

Princess Bio

Name: Mari Franco Morgado

School: David Douglas High School

Year in school: Senior

Career plans: I plan on going into the medical field and becoming a travel nurse.

High School Activities & Honors:

Link Crew Freshman Mentor, CommuniCare, Class Treasurer, Women’s Wrestling Team, Latino Student Union, and Latino Network.

Hobbies and special interests:

In my spare time, I love to be creative with the art of flowers and bouquet making. I am also involved in two Latino Clubs as well as the wrestling club here at David Douglas.

What are you most proud of during your high school career? During my time at David Douglas High School, I am most proud of putting myself out there and helping others. I am most proud that I was selected Treasurer by my peers as well as part of the communications team for Link Crew.

What is your favorite Rose Festival event and why?

My favorite Rose Festival event would have to be the CityFair, which is held down by the waterfront because I love seeing local businesses there as well as all the food and rides since I am such an adrenaline seeker.