Rose Festival names 2024 princess from Ida B. Wells High School

The 2024 Rose Festival princess from Ida B. Wells High School is senior Mackenzie Devereux, festival organizers announced Thursday.
Published: Mar. 7, 2024 at 6:43 PM PST

PORTLAND Ore. (KPTV) - The 2024 Rose Festival princess from Ida B. Wells High School is senior Mackenzie Devereux, festival organizers announced Thursday.

Mackenzie expects to graduate this June and plans to pursue a career as a quantum biophysics researcher and surgeon.

Mackenzie looks forward to the opportunity to continue serving her community on the Court. Over her four years at school, she has grown to recognize that she “received not only an education but a voice.” She continued, “Speaking out about gender equality, exploring medical research, and collaborating with passionate students and faculty to create an inclusive culture at Ida B Wells has been profoundly meaningful. Not only as a future physician, but an active member of my community, serving others is where I find fulfillment and is also exemplified in those who serve on the Court. I hope to have the honor of connecting with similarly impassioned students from across the city to continue serving our communities with dedication and altruism.”

High School Activities & Honors:

Surgeon Red Cross Club, Astronomy Club Vice President, Science Olympiad Triathlete, Key Club Member, Outdoors Club Founding Member, AP Capstone Diploma, Marie Curie Award for Excellence in Experimentation.

Hobbies and special interests:

From crocheting and knitting, to painting and drawing, to building tiny dollhouses, it is rare to see me without an art project in my free time. In addition to creative activities, I am also an avid reader and book collector.

What are you most proud of during your high school career?

Throughout my high school career, many academic and extracurricular experiences have made a positive contribution to my overall experience. Most notably, however, would likely be my work addressing and combating gender bias at my school. For my Girl Scout Gold Award, I formed and implemented a program that works to create awareness about the presence and effects of gender-based discrimination specifically in STEM and upper-level classes at my high school.

What is your favorite Rose Festival event and why?

The [Fred Meyer] Junior Parade holds a special place in my heart. On the day of the parade, my mom would pick me up early from school and we would meet my grandmother in the Hollywood district near where she lived. We’d set up lawn chairs on the sidewalk and watch the parade march by, cheering extra loudly when my brother and his sousaphone passed. It is a particularly fond memory I look back on, sitting on the sidewalk watching local kids and organizations march down the street by the old Hollywood Theatre.