Man realizes he won $4 million on lottery scratch-off while pumping gas

A Michigan man won $4 million from a scratch-off lottery ticket. (Source: WNEM)
Published: Jul. 9, 2024 at 5:03 PM CDT

SAGINAW COUNTY, Mich. (WNEM/Gray News) - A Michigan man got the surprise of a lifetime thanks to a lucky lottery scratch-off ticket.

According to the Michigan Lottery, a 52-year-old man scored a $4 million lottery prize while getting gas at a Saginaw County convenience store.

“I stopped to get gas and bought two tickets while I was at the store. I scanned the first ticket and got a message to file a claim. I scanned the ticket again, and when that message came up a second time, I thought the scanner was broken,” he said.

The man, who did not want to be identified, said he went outside and scratched the second ticket while pumping gas, revealing the million-dollar jackpot.

“It’s hard to describe the feeling when I saw the winning amount,” he shared. “I scratched the ticket while I was waiting and yelled, ‘We just won $4 million!’”

The Michigan Lottery said he recently stopped by lottery headquarters to claim his prize from the $4 Million Ultimate scratch-off game.

The lucky winner chose to receive a one-time payment option that returned about $2.7 million after taxes.

The man said he plans to purchase land and invest his winnings.