Woman gaining national attention for thrift store after unique shop goes viral on social media

Caroline Dodson, 22, co-owner of Rodeo Thrift, started her entrepreneurial journey as a high school dream in 2019. (Source: WDBJ)
Published: Jun. 28, 2024 at 4:38 PM CDT

ROANOKE, Va. (WDBJ/Gray News) - A Virginia woman is gaining national attention for her thrift store which has gone viral on social media.

Caroline Dodson, 22, co-owner of Rodeo Thrift, started her entrepreneurial journey as a high school dream in 2019.

Four years later, Dodson’s passion for fashion has turned into a thriving reality with the opening of her storefront just over a year ago.

She was sharing available clothing on Instagram before moving to TikTok to showcase more of the unique items available at the shop.

“My now-husband, who was just my boyfriend at the time, convinced me to create an online Instagram account just selling clothes, and it actually grew from there,” Dodson said.

Her store operates solely on donations and she gives back to the community.

“Starting at 17, I would’ve never thought I’d be here today, but I am honestly proud of the people who have supported me and myself through all of that,” Dodson said.

A video of Dodson opening her thrift store gained significant attention, reaching 2.5 million viewers.

Dodson has also gained support from major retailers like Wrangler.

“I have girls messaging me saying, ‘I’m going to drive 4-plus hours away.’ That’s crazy! We’ve had people come all the way from North Carolina just to support the thrift store,” Dodson said.

Dodson says she is blessed by all the support she’s had and wants all business owners to know their dreams can come true.