‘I was hyperventilating!’: Man wins $6M from scratch-off ticket thanks to playing lucky number

The lucky player, who chose to remain anonymous, bought his winning ticket at a 7-Eleven...
The lucky player, who chose to remain anonymous, bought his winning ticket at a 7-Eleven located in Clinton Township.(Michigan Lottery)
Published: Jun. 25, 2024 at 5:46 PM CDT

WAYNE COUNTY, Mich. (Gray News) - A 32-year-old Michigan man won a massive lottery jackpot thanks to purchasing a scratch-off ticket while stopping at an area convenience store.

Michigan Lottery officials said the man, who chose not to disclose his identity, bought the winning $50 500X Money Maker ticket at a 7-Eleven store in Clinton Township.

“I play lottery games every once in a while, and this 500X Money Maker ticket was only the second ticket I have purchased so far this year,” the lottery winner said.

According to the new millionaire, he asked the clerk what the ticket number was on the next ticket, and he purchased it after hearing it was his and his wife’s lucky number of 14.

“I scratched the ticket off and when I saw I won $6 million, I started hyperventilating! I had to take the day off work because I was in a state of shock. I texted my wife and said: ‘Lucky number 14,’” the man shared.

He chose to receive his winnings in a one-time lump sum payment of $4.1 million.

“Congratulations to the lucky player and his wife on an incredible $6 million win,” Michigan Lottery Commissioner Suzanna Shkreli said. “Creating life-changing moments for our players is incredibly exciting and I hope this prize has a positive impact on this player and his family for many years to come.”

The lucky player said he plans to invest his newfound wealth, help his family and start a business.