Free Music Friday: Chase Kimey to play at New Tabor Church benefit

KBTX First News at Four EXTENDED(Recurring)
Published: May. 17, 2024 at 9:30 PM CDT

BRYAN, Texas (KBTX) - Chase Kimey is a country music artist from Giddings. While his day job may be in the oil and gas industry, his heart beats to the rhythm of classic and 90s-era country music.

He is playing at a fundraiser Saturday for the New Tabor Church, which burned down in January.

He said it is a meaningful event for the community and church to help rebuild.

“My pastor told me when I was going to confirmation that the church is not the building but the congregation state and they inspired me,” said Kimey.

He also spoke about his performance at the Grand Ole Opry coming up in less than two weeks and said he found out about the Sound of Small Town America competition on KBTX.

“I actually found out about the opportunity here on the KBTX app. I read about it and I’m not really big on the whole competition thing with music, but you didn’t have to win to get what you want in the top five and get to the Grand Ole Opry House stage,” Kimey said.

The benefit will be from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m. at the Burleson County Expo Center and will have opportunities for auctions, a silent raffle, a dance and more.

You can find more about Kimey and his music here.

KBTX First News at Four EXTENDED(Recurring)