Be Remarkable: Salina Hernandez has been helping families at daycare for nearly 30 years

Kiddie Castle Children’s Center on Cavitt Avenue in Bryan is the oldest privately run preschool and a familiar face around here is a Salina Hernandez.
Be Remarkable: Salina Hernandez has been helping families at daycare for nearly 30 years
Published: May. 13, 2024 at 7:49 PM CDT

BRYAN, Texas (KBTX) - Kiddie Castle Children’s Center on Cavitt Avenue in Bryan is the oldest privately run preschool in the city, and a familiar face around here is Salina Hernandez.

She’s been working here for nearly 30 years, providing comfort and kindness to parents and their children.

“I feel like I trust I can trust her. It’s just a safe place, safe for my babies,” said one parent.

She does a lot for the staff, the kids, and their families, and for years she’s been doing with a positive attitude.

Kiddie Castle is family-owned and has been open since 1982.

Salina says she was offered a job here after she first started taking her child here.

For why she has stayed here for so long, she says it’s the kids.

“They don’t know how to lie. They tell you the craziest stuff, the funniest stuff. They keep you going all the time. It’s never boring. I can give them all my love and all my craziness, and then I can send them home,” laughed Salina.

The “Be Remarkable” award is a joint initiative between KBTX-TV and Daniel Stark Injury Lawyers.

If you have someone you want to nominate for our Be Remarkable campaign click here!