Free Music Friday: Hylynd

KBTX First News at Four(Recurring)
Published: May. 13, 2024 at 9:53 AM CDT

BRYAN, Texas (KBTX) - Hylynd was born & raised in North Carolina & is currently in Houston is a seasoned singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist & producer.

His self-titled 7-song EP, co-produced with Jeffery Armstreet marks the next step in his metamorphosis and builds off his self-produced full-length record, “Akabeni”.

Hyland said his music has evolved since he began in the industry.

“My new music has shifted towards country, soul, and pop. I was more in the soul, pop, and R&B vein. I think I’ve kept some of those elements in there, but I think North Carolina, going back to my roots, has connected me with my childhood again,” he said.

The song he performed, I Met God, wasn’t meant to be religious when he began writing it, but ended that way organically.

“I wanted some songs that focused on my personal spiritual journey. And there are some people in my close family, including myself, who were going through some tragedy and I wanted to pin that to paper,” he said.

You can find Hylynd’s music here.

Watch the full performance above and the full interview below.

KBTX First News at Four(Recurring)