Free Music Friday: Hylynd

KBTX First News at Four(Recurring)
Published: May. 12, 2024 at 9:24 PM CDT

BRYAN, Texas (KBTX) - Hylynd, born and raised in South Carolina who is currently in Houston, describes himself as a seasoned singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist producer.

For Hylynd, living in South Carolina shaped his music career, shifting from Soul, Pop, R&B even to Country Soul Pop. While some of those elements are still there in the music he makes today, he thinks going back to his roots has connected him with his childhood.

“With all the country music that I grew up on, so people like you know Faith Hill, Tim McGraw, Travis Tritt, people like that,” Hylynd said.

Hylynd said he has two singles that are coming out soon. It follows his full-length record Akabeni which he released last year.

“It’s been a minute since I’ve released music, so I didn’t want to just give them one, I wanted to give them a double single to have a little bit more to grab on to. “Heart Broke” and “I Met God” are the two singles. They’re kinda the shift from where I was to where I’m going sonically and musically,” Hylynd said.

He said his new single “I Met God” was not originally intended to be a religious song, however, that’s ultimately what it became.

“I wanted some songs that focused on my personal spiritual journey and there are some people in my close family, including myself, who, we’ve gone through some tragedy and I wanted to pin that to paper and storybook that. Just let people, wherever they’re at, whether they’ve gone through trauma, tragedy, heartbreak, or disappointment, that God is there in the midst of it, he’s not departed. He didn’t cause it. But he’s right there in the middle of it to bring them through it to the other side,” Hylynd said.

Those interested can find Hylynd’s music on Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon Music, and YouTube.

KBTX First News at Four(Recurring)