Be Remarkable: Amanda Gittleman has a passion for honoring veterans and their families

“Being a veteran, I have that special connection to them in that way.”
“Being a veteran, I have that special connection to them in that way.”
Published: Apr. 29, 2024 at 8:13 PM CDT

BRYAN, Texas (KBTX) - When you lose a loved one, you want someone you know and trust to help with the difficult decisions that will follow.

The Brazos Valley is home to several reputable funeral homes but there is someone at Hillier Funeral Home who is being praised for her work with military families.

Amanda Gittleman, the Managing Partner at Hillier Funeral Home, holds a special place in her heart for veterans and their families. Drawing from her own experience as a veteran, Gittleman feels a deep connection to those who have served. Her journey into funeral service was inspired by her early exposure to military honors for veterans, which instilled in her a profound sense of duty and gratitude toward her country.

“Uniquely, funeral service and military services, they’ve always gone hand in hand and since I was in high school, I worked at a funeral home, but being at the funeral home, I saw the military honors for the veterans and it made me realize what they gave to receive such solemn honor,” said Gittleman.

“I thought, you know, I’m not going to have my freedoms given to me. I’m going to earn them. So I joined the military. but then in the military, I was tasked with being on a funeral honor guard. So then that was also me just giving back again and they’ve always worked hand in hand and when it was time to get out of the military, I knew that I would be going right back into funeral service. I wanted to keep those two together,” said Gittleman.

Having relocated to Aggieland with her husband, who also works at Hillier, Gittleman has immersed herself in the local community. She is actively involved in Brazos Valley Cares, an organization dedicated to assisting veterans, a cause close to her heart.

Reflecting on her motivation, Gittleman expresses a strong sense of gratitude for her blessings in life, driving her to give back to others. Her selflessness and dedication have not gone unnoticed, with her husband, Mr. Gittleman, expressing immense pride in her endeavors.

Charles Rogers, who nominated Gittleman for recognition, highlights her unwavering commitment to providing exceptional service to every family, particularly veterans’ families. Gittleman’s efforts reflect a desire to honor and give back to those who have sacrificed for their country.

“Here we give every family attention and try to make it special for each family, but especially a veteran’s family. They’ve given a lot for their country and we want to give back to them for what they’ve done and for their family and to give them the honor they deserve,” said Rogers.

The “Be Remarkable” award is a joint initiative between KBTX-TV and Daniel Stark Injury Lawyers.

If you have someone you want to nominate for our Be Remarkable campaign click here!