From the Ground Up: Brazos Valley Cattlewomen support first-time cattle raisers

KBTX Brazos Valley This Morning(Recurring)
Published: Apr. 25, 2024 at 11:15 AM CDT

BRYAN, Texas (KBTX) - The Brazos Valley Cattlewomen is an educational and economic resource for women in, or getting into, the agriculture industry. Lindsey McKenzie, the chapter’s vice president, said the organization helped her thrive when she started raising cattle.

“I became involved in the organization because I wanted to learn more about the industry. My husband and I had jumped in head first,” McKenzie said.

McKenzie got involved with the Brazos Valley Cattlewomen several years ago. She turned to the women’s organization when she and her father decided to get into the cattle industry. It wasn’t a move she ever dreamed she’d make.

“I grew up in 4H and FFA in high school. I showed lambs and had steer, but I never had an idea of raising commercial cattle,” she said. “My dad, he was like, ‘hey, I think I’m gonna start raising cattle.’ I thought, well, I’ll get into it with you. Let’s go buy some cattle.”

Once she took the plunge, McKenzie knew she’d have to learn a lot, and fast. The Brazos Valley Cattlewomen were there to welcome her with open arms and helped guide her as she made her way in the cattle industry.

“I say I’m still fairly new, but I don’t know. We’ve done so much in this last year. I feel like, and these women, they make you feel like family when you come on,” McKenzie said. “I was less shy about joining a group and asking the questions that I thought might seem silly. And it’s been the best decision I’ve made.”

With their endless learning opportunities and access to women who have a long history with the beef industry, McKenzie said she was able to adjust to and excel in her new venture.