Free Music Friday: C.J. Kern

KBTX First News at Four EXTENDED(Recurring)
Published: Apr. 12, 2024 at 7:24 PM CDT

BRYAN, Texas (KBTX) - Magnolia native C.J. Kern joined First News at Four for Free Music Friday.

Kern says he has been in music for about 20 years now, although he did have a small break for part of his 20s.

“I did hang it up for about five years while I pursued my career. I had this point in my life about two or three years ago where I was just feeling kind of, maybe down is the right word, and praying about stuff and praying for guidance, and I ended up picking it back up,” he said.

Kern performed his song “Until the Day I Die.” He says it’s about his life so far and the realities of being alive.

“You know, we’re just blue collar boys and we’re just trying to make blue collar noise, and you know, bless the world with these gifts and talents that God’s given us,” he said.

Kern’s music can be found on YouTube, Apple Music and here.

“I’ll be releasing some more songs this year under my headed South Acoustic album. There’ll be six songs out there. I think this [”Until the Day I Die”] is one of those that will be included,” he said.

You can watch the full performance above, and his interview below.

KBTX First News at Four EXTENDED(Recurring)