Free Music Friday: Michelle Kay

KBTX First News at Four EXTENDED(Recurring)
Published: Mar. 29, 2024 at 5:44 PM CDT

BRYAN, Texas (KBTX) - Country artist Michelle Kay is a small town girl with a big time voice.

With a soulful sound well beyond her age, Kay has shared much success planting her boots in the Central Texas music scene, and is this week’s Free Music Friday.

Kay said music has always been in her life since she was young.

“My dad used to have a cover band in the Houston area, so growing up like we would always go to shows. And then as I got older, I loved music and I always wanted to play. So I started playing little places here and there,” she said.

Kay has several performances this weekend, including tonight in Burton at Burton Short Stop at 8 p.m. and Saturday at Yesterdays Bar & Grill beginning at 9 p.m.

On May 29, Kay will perform at the Grande Ole Opry, which she said she’s humbled to be a part of.

“Oh my gosh, that’s literally in two months. I’ll be in Nashville and it’s really exciting. I’m just so thankful for the opportunity,” she said.

You can find more on Michelle Kay on her website.

For the full performance, click on the video player above.

For the full interview, click on the video player below.

KBTX First News at Four EXTENDED(Recurring)