How a Dragon-Themed Fantasy Became the Year's 'It' Book

Posted by Cybil on July 17, 2023
 
It's fair to say that Rebecca Yarros' Fourth Wing—a romance-laced fantasy about dragon-riding warriors—has become the hit book of the summer. The book published in early May, and hardcover editions almost immediately sold out (despite that, according to Publishers Weekly, Fourth Wing had a very healthy first printing of 350,000 books). 

Readers on TikTok cannot stop talking about the book. And here on Goodreads, members have been raving about the novel, which has already garnered more than 200,000 ratings, giving the book a 4.68-star average rating.

Yarros, a mother of six children, has written more than a dozen books. And until Fourth Wing, she was known as a romance author. So, we had to check in with Yarros and ask her about writing her breakout hit and what fans can expect next.


Goodreads: First of all, congratulations on the success of Fourth Wing! For the very few people who may not have heard of this book yet, can you summarize the premise for us and tell us a little bit about your inspiration for writing it?
 

Rebecca Yarros: Hi! Thank you for having me! Fourth Wing is about a war college for dragon riders where the first rule is graduate or die, and the chronically ill young woman who has been raised to be a scribe but finds herself competing to bond a dragon instead.

I majored in history in college and was really inspired to take a look at what happens when history is only written by the victor, and how that can change politics and truth as we know it.

GR: Readers are shelving Fourth Wing as both romance and fantasy and describing it as "romantasy." You’ve described this book as your first fantasy book. Tell us about writing fantasy for the first time. Why did you want to move in that direction? How was it similar or different from writing romance?

RY: 
Having been a fantasy reader my entire life, writing Fourth Wing felt like coming home. Though I found success in romance first, and dearly love the genre, fantasy has always been my first love, so when I found out my publisher [Red Tower] was starting a romantasy line, I jumped at the chance.

Writing fantasy is exceptionally different in the world-building aspect, as well as having more external conflict that drives the characters.

GR: Fourth Wing is a bona fide breakout hit this year. When did you first sense that the book was starting to gain momentum with readers? And how does it feel to have a book of this magnitude at this point in your career? What’s been the most surprising thing to come out of this for you?

RY: 
I knew the book was gaining some serious traction when my publisher called me three days after release to say all of the first print run had been sold from the warehouse and whatever was on the shelves was all that was left until they could get the second print run in.

It’s been absolutely wild to have this take off, and the best word I have for the experience is surreal. The most surprising aspect has been the messages from readers with Ehlers-Danlos, which is the genetic condition Violet, my main character, has, telling me their various experiences of feeling represented. Having Ehlers-Danlos myself, as do four of my sons, that’s been the most touching part of this entire experience.

GR: Do you try to avoid seeing TikToks and reader reviews of your book? If not, what have been some of your favorite fan reactions to the book so far?

RY: 
I honestly blocked the hashtags for my name and the book on TikTok once it became overwhelming. I love the app, but I truly believe in honoring reader spaces as well as my own mental health. I do see the ones I’m tagged in, though, and some of my favorites have been compilations of videos and ones about Violet’s method of coping with anxiety, which is to recite her study points from being trained as a scribe.

GR: We always love a good book recommendation (or five). Since physical copies of Fourth Wing have been sold out absolutely everywhere, can you give eager readers a few recommendations of other books to pick up in the interim to tide them over?
 
RY: They really are hard to find! Hopefully not for too long! I’ve loved The Girl with Stars in Her Eyes by Xio Axelrod and The Stardust Thief by Chelsea Abdullah.

GR: What are some of your favorite books, and which authors inspire you?

RY: My favorite book of all time is East of Eden by Steinbeck, and I’ll always reread Mercedes Lackey, Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Octavia Butler!

GR: The next book in the series comes out in November. Can you give Goodreads members a little sneak peek of what to expect? How many more books will be in this series?

RY: There will be five books in the series, and all I can say is that there’s more political intrigue, more adventure, and definitely more dragons!

GR: Anything else you’d like to add? (Is there something you’re dying to talk about? A question you’ve always wanted to answer?)

RY: Not at all! I’m just really thankful for all the love Fourth Wing has gotten. It was such a joy to write, and I’m truly humbled that it’s bringing others that same joy! Thank you!
 

Rebecca Yarros' Book Picks



Fourth Wing is available now in the U.S. The second book in The Empyrean series, Iron Flame, will be published on November 7. 


Comments Showing 1-50 of 56 (56 new)


message 1: by Yasmine (new)

Yasmine I absolutely LOVED Fourth Wing and had to go to 3 bookstores in London to find my hardback copy and I am so excited for November (I would have been utterly smashed if I had to wait for an entire year for the next book in the series). Finding out that there are 5 books planned makes me super giddy and I hope they all are as good as the first one!


message 2: by Los (new)

Los Great interview and great book! I have a love/hate relationship after stupidly canceling my preorder of the first edition. But i overcame my self gate enough to listen to the audiobook and it’s incredibly hard to hate it. Great job, Rebecca, and thanks for letting me experience an overnight book sensation.


message 3: by Kendal (new)

Kendal Boren So excited to hear it’s going to be a 5 book series


message 4: by Bailey (new)

Bailey Fourth Wing was incredible! So happy we only need to wait until November for the second!


message 5: by Jill (new)

Jill Denk 5 book series woohoo!!


message 6: by Diane (new)

Diane I’m so excited it will be 5 books! I absolutely loved everything about this book!!


message 7: by Chrislyn (new)

Chrislyn Potesta Fourth Wing stole my heart and soul! So happy that it’s a 5 book series! I don’t think I could ever tire of this world! So excited for the sequel in November! Thanks for a great interview!


message 8: by Meredith (new)

Meredith Powell This book was such a joy. I read it early on and it has been great to watch everyone else to fall in love with it too. Thanks for a wonderful interview :)


message 9: by Morgan (new)

Morgan Adams So incredibly happy for Rebecca Yarros and her well deserved success! I’m beyond excited that this series is five books. Her writing is addictive!


message 10: by Jhenny (new)

Jhenny This is awesome 🤩 I truly enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more from you 😋


message 11: by Kacey (new)

Kacey Daniels {hiatus} Yay! So excited to know there’s gonna be five books!! I loved Fourth Wing so much! All the characters stole my heart! I already pre-ordered Iron Flame and cannot wait. Congratulations!


message 12: by FaunyJ (new)

FaunyJ I was in such a reading slump for the first half of this year! Forth wing pulled me out, so glad I followed the hype on this one. Congratulations Rebecca Yarros. Can’t wait till November!


message 13: by Mandy (new)

Mandy This book is amazing. I love the character development and can’t wait to see what comes next. I must admit that this was sitting in my Kindle library for a while as I did have this preordered. I have loved all of Rebecca’s books. When I finally got around to reading, I was blown away, so much I have listened to the audio book as well. Just, thank you.


message 14: by Emma (new)

Emma This is great! I’m so happy for Rebecca Yarros success. I absolutely adored this book and looking forward to more.


message 15: by Edilianne (new)

Edilianne Loved this book so much, can’t wait to read the second!


message 16: by Danielle (new)

Danielle It is a well-deserved success. Congratulations!

The book really brought together topics that I associate with books I read as child/teenager. Can't wait for the second book. I am happy that there will be five books in the series.

As I read the book in German, I want to thank whoever made it possible for them to be translated that fast. Usually, we wait for a year or more to get the books in German.


message 17: by Abi (new)

Abi Awesome interview, loved reading this, fourth wing is my new favourite book and can't wait for more


message 18: by Nikita (new)

Nikita Maslen Fourth Wing is King, and Rebecca Yarros is Queen.
Without a doubt this is the best book of 2023 and Iron Flame will be the 'most anticipated read of 2023'
Hats off to the team at Red Tower Books and to everyone that onboard to make this series what it is. We love you


message 19: by Audrey (new)

Audrey Pinion Goodreads, you asked GREAT questions! Thanks for this Interview! I’m counting down the minutes to Iron Flame! 🐉 🗡️ 🔥


message 20: by Selam (last edited Jul 18, 2023 05:51AM) (new)

Selam The hype is well deserved. I loved this book, it's one of the best books I've read this year. Epic! I'm waiting eagerly for Iron Flame.


message 21: by MJ Johnston (new)

MJ Johnston (reader_mj) Ahhh this is amazing! I read it at my library and instantly ran out to chapters in Oshawa to get it. I grabbed the last one 😱. I loved this book so much and it re awoke my love for reading.


message 22: by Debanjana (new)

Debanjana 5 books is the series omg I'm beyond excited 😍😍😍


Cazadora De Mundos No voy a mentir tengo miedo de que sean 5 libros, las expectativas son altas y en general eso es lo que mata un libro.
Tengo que respirar y recordar disfrutar el próximo libro.


message 24: by Hilen (new)

Hilen I loved the interview. Eager to read more about the Fourth Wing world


message 25: by Cat (new)

Cat This interview was great!
I was lucky to meet Rebecca in Germany one week ago and she was so sweet. I cannot wait for Iron Flame to be published.


message 26: by Karina (new)

Karina Yassss 5 books!!! Can't wait to see this develop. Thank you for participating in the interview Rebecca!


message 27: by Markelle (new)

Markelle I’ve listened 3 times on audiobook and have skimmed through the physical a few times. Absolutely love when new fantasy books come out, and always up for dragons. Thank you for sharing your condition with us and reminding everyone that we define our own weaknesses. I also really enjoyed the history aspect and can’t wait to see what the next book brings us.


message 28: by Alondra (new)

Alondra Truly awesome!
It hasn’t been long since I started reading (for fun), but I’ve loved the journey. It’s thanks to authors like her that have made it fun and easy to dive right in to the plot and the characters that make the story true for the reader.
I’m still in my feels about “The things we leave unfinished”. It has an amazing plot, a beautiful love story, great set of characters… and the TWIST😭 had me speechless. First book I’ve cried over.

Currently trying to get my physical copy of Fourth Wing so I can get the full experience. CANT WAIT TO DIVE IN. I already know I’m gonna love it.


message 29: by naomi (new)

naomi no way this is her first fantasy book.


Flor Books from Hogwarts I really loved this book! Can’t wait for the next one! Thanks for the interview!


message 31: by Ming (new)

Ming The book is freaking absolutely fabulous.. can't wait for second then third keep on going wonder writing.. joy reading it .. awesome plot and character .


message 32: by Anna (new)

Anna Welch I have to read this one. I hear good things all over about it.


message 33: by kiara :) (new)

kiara :) I'd love to know if they are thinking of printing more books with the sprayed edges! I've been trying to get my hands on one of those


shania♡ (tristan caine's wife) ahh 5 books yes!!


message 35: by aylin ᯓ★ (new)

aylin ᯓ★ Gonna read this, I love dragon-related books with my hear and soul!


message 36: by Danae (new)

Danae Johnson I pre-ordered the second book as soon as it was available! I am dying to find out what happens next.


message 37: by Christina (new)

Christina This book/series will be living rent free in my head. I loved Fourth Wing! There wasn’t a page or chapter I got bored or felt the story was running slow.


message 38: by Emma (new)

Emma Skapetis I absolutely loved this book and I can't wait for the next one.


message 39: by Cami (new)

Cami  (Aelin's version) I´M SO IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK, WITH THE CHARACTERS, AND WITH THE STORY 😍😍😍
I'm REALLY looking forward to Iron Flame! November can get here soon enough!


message 40: by Hots (new)

Hots Hartley Can we feature a book that isn't sold out on the front page of Goodreads?

There's no need to amplify the already-rich and well-known. Feature some less-viral, lesser-known titles here.

Don't always need to go after the new and hot! 🔥

Other authors appreciate some shine, too! ✨


message 41: by D.L. (last edited Jul 21, 2023 08:41AM) (new)

D.L. Not sure I'll read this. I dislike overhyped books to be honest.


message 42: by Catnap (new)

Catnap Fantasy romance really needs to be it's own separate category. At this rate regular fantasy is going to be killed with the influx of cosy fantasy and romantasy.


message 43: by Izida (new)

Izida Well, I barely reached half of it without passing out from boredom, trying to give it a chance, just because... 75% done and I am still Nope about it... 1,5 stars for the effort (if there was any...)


message 44: by Laurel (new)

Laurel Martin D.L. wrote: "Not sure I'll read this. I dislike overhyped books to be honest."

It wasn't that great. Just meh. The hype did not live up. The writing was poor.


message 45: by A.Roma (new)

A.Roma I might be the only one who couldn’t finish this book, I found it so mediocre 😬


message 46: by Kristen (new)

Kristen H Didn’t live up to the hype. A big DNF.


message 47: by Tamara (new)

Tamara She sounds really sweet and good for her she's getting all this hype which hopefully transforms to substantial cash lol. Initially, I wasn’t going to read this book bc I don't like overhyped books, usually, but then I saw two negative reviews videos on youtube that really hacked into it, that instead of deterring me from reading it, actually gave me an itch to go and read it for myself and see if it was that awful and I don't regret it. Yeah the book has its drawbacks but overall i ended up enjoying it very much and it got me out of a mean reading slump so I appreciate that. It was like candy for my brain.


message 48: by Ridel (new)

Ridel The only thing great about this book is the social media marketing.


message 49: by Christine (new)

Christine I look forward in reading this book not only because it has dragons but the character has my genetic disorder, Ehlers Danlos. I have Type 3- Hypermobility to which I graciously shared with all 4 of my children in some aspect of the disorder. My 3rd child/daughter has also shared her genetic disorder to all 4 of her children.And my mother & maternal grandmother shared it with me.


Jennifer Lundfelt I knew I wasn’t ready to let the the characters or the world Rebecca Yarros created go yet, and to know that there will. Be 5 books to keep it all alive is wonderf news!

Thank you GR for the great interview!


« previous 1
back to top