Advertisement

Forget a $7M Super Bowl Ad, The Real Genius Companies Are Getting Sydney Sweeney To Promote Their Product On Her Instagram

Arnold Jerocki. Getty Images.

Advertising always make we wonder what is and isn't worth it for a company. An ad on a podcast does what for you? Well, if you have a crazy engaging audience like PMT it works wonders. But something like a car company being the official automobile sponsor of the Yankees means nothing to me. You're going to buy a car because of that? If I go car shopping I don't think I'm buying an Audi because they're the official luxury vehicle sponsor of my favorite baseball team. Easy money for the Yankees to take in though, no doubt. 

Then you go a giant step further and talk Super Bowl commercials. For most companies, shelling out the $7M for a 30 second spot during the Big Game doesn't impact their bottom line in anyway. Those are fun coupons. If we're talking bang for your buck though, that's gotta be the least efficient way to attack that. Two days after the Super Bowl ends I have trouble telling you what one of the commercials were. 

And then I saw Sydney Sweeney's instagram today. No surprise here, but it was once again another heat seeking missile. 

Once you pick your jaw up from the floor and wipe the saliva away from your mouth, you realize that post was actually an ad for a luxury hair care company called Kerastase. Genius by them. Whoever is spending their ad dollars? The raise of all raises. I'm going to take a very educated guess that post didn't cost $7 million or anywhere close to that. I also bet it's going to get that company way more than any Super Bowl ad would ever attain. Kerastase has over 2 million followers on IG so they're clearly doing fine for themselves, but you get Sydney Sweeney using your shit on Instagram while she sunbathes? If they had a publicly traded stock I'd take all of my money in my bank account and throw it on them. That's how you advertise. Put this in the textbooks for the kids in school. This is a masterclass. 

Advertisement

Advertisement