Advertisement

Steph Curry Not Being Able To Spin A Basketball On His Finger Is One Of The Biggest Upsets Of The Century

Thearon W. Henderson. Getty Images.

When you think of the best ball handlers in NBA history, who comes to mind? I'd say guys like Isiah Thomas, Allen Iverson, Pistol Pete, Jason Williams, Jamal Crawford, and Kyrie Irving are all worthy selections. 

You know who else fits that description? Steph Curry

I bring this up because I saw a video on my timeline this morning that legit made me spit out my coffee that I was actually drinking, and I feel like I'm not alone there

I'm sorry what? There is something in the basketball world that Steph Curry cannot do? I didn't even know this was possible, especially if you were going to tell me it involves hand/eye coordination with a basketball. If you asked me to guess which member of this Team USA super duper team couldn't spin a ball on their finger I wouldn't even consider Steph an option. Did I wake up and think I'd learn that Steph Curry and I actually had something in common? Sure didn't! But maybe he is human after all.

Part of me thought he was lying in that clip, so I did what any respectable fake journalist would do. I went digging for evidence. What I found was this clip from 7 years ago between Steph and some Harlem Globetrotters, where they try and teach him how to do it. It's the same process every single kid who has ever gone to a summer basketball camp has experienced

You hear Steph right before talking about how he can't spin it, and then it was the classic move of the instructor getting the spin going and then sliding the player's finger under it. We've all been there at some point in our basketball journey at camp. I remember when David Wesley did the same thing at the JCC basketball camp back in 1996. I already thought he was the future for the upcoming 1996-97 Celts, but once I saw him spin the ball on his finger and then transfer it to mine? I was sold. In reality, that team ended up finishing 15-67 so….yeah.

It just goes to show you though that even the GOATs aren't perfect. Everyone's got something, and for Steph Curry that's spinning a basketball on his finger. Who knew!