Advertisement

The Bruins Grab Elias Lindholm And Nikita Zadorov In Free Agency

Don Sweeney started off free agency with a bang, signing Elias Lindholm and Nikita Zadorov. Lindholm gets a 7 year deal with a 7.75M AAV, and Zadorov gets 6 years at 5M per.

Steep term for both but two players I think will be WELCOME additions here. Lindholm down the middle and Zadorov bringing the nasty to the defense. I love it. You have to overpay in free agency but this gives Don enough to pay Swayman (8x8, please), and have some cash leftover. With the cap going up, I don't mind the prices. The Bruins desperately needed a true 1C, I bet they slide Zacha to the wing with Coyle at 2C, Poitras at 3C and newly acquired Mark Kastelic could slot in at 4C. While the Ullmark trade was underwhelming, I think Zadorov and Lindholm are true big pieces that will help this team. It's not perfect, but it's a step in the right direction. Again, the term scares me on both, but again, this is the price you pay when you shop on July 1st. Hopefully the cap continues to go up.

Sounds Jake DeBrusk will be signing elsewhere, so another scoring winger would be a big help. Lets see what else Don has cooking today.