Advertisement

The Knicks Lose Isaiah Hartenstein To The Thunder And I Am Sad

So after learning more than I ever cared to learn about Early Bird Rights, the new aprons, and all the other big brain economics shit that is a prerequisite for being anything more than a casual NBA fan, Isaiah Hartenstein is leaving the Knicks for the Thunder. Now I have even more useless shit in my crappy brain that I have no use for. Thanks Isaiah!

Seriously though, I don't blame Hartenstein one iota for cashing in and locking up $15 million more than the Knicks could offer him along with being able to hit free agency a year early. There are definitely perks to staying with the team in the city you know. But when another contender keeps throwing millions upon millions of dollars at your ass, most rational people are going to take the money sooner or later.

I like to think that I personally would've turned down the extra cash in exchange for being in the New York market with my wife that just so happens to be a model and the unlimited gravy train that comes with winning a title in the city. But if someone offered me even a fraction of that money to kill my coworkers Hunger Game style, I wouldn't think twice about killing Large, Robbie, and even my sweet Edward in exchange for life-changing cash. I would be really sad about it, but I would do it nonetheless. So best of luck to Isaiah going to the number 1 seed in a Western Conference that will being going against Jokic, Luka, Ant, Wemby, Ja (as long as he stays of Insta), and others for the next three years.

As for the Knicks, I am obviously bummed to lose a guy that was a big contributor during Mitch's annual serious injury and an absolute pleasure to watch. But I will not let the Knicks losing their backup center that averaged 8 and 8 in a league where ruin the most exciting Knicks roster of my lifetime. I've been through too much shit this century for that to happen. So I am going to believe the front office that locked up Hartenstein to such a cheap contract that it impacted how much they could offer him as a free agent will find the perfect replacement, with Goga Bitadze being the name mentioned most to do that. I admittedly don't know shit about him but the same could've been said about Isaiah Hartenstein before the Knicks signed him. As usual, it's In Leon We Trust. Forever.

So godspeed Isaiah. We'll always have this year's magical run that peaked for you in Game 2 of the Sixers series where you contributed to two of the biggest plays I have seen a Knick make in 25 years.

Advertisement

Once a Knick, always a Knick (except for when we play the Thunder in the NBA Finals).