Skip to main content
Became Hot Network Question
added 6 characters in body
Source Link
azetina
  • 29.1k
  • 21
  • 111
  • 204

I find that LaTeX puts too much space around equality == and other relation symbols. I realise that I can brace symbols, e.g. typing ${=}$${=}$ instead of $=$$=$. However, this goes too far in the other direction, and anyway, spacing is context-dependent. For instance I might want this to typeset this == with less space

$x=5$

$x=5$

and this == to typeset with more space

$longexpression = evenlongerexpression$

$longexpression = evenlongerexpression$

Similarly for other relation symbols and binary operators.

My question is: is there a latexLaTeX typesetting package that will intelligently automate some of this (even if human judgement may be required in some cases.)

Thank you.

I find that LaTeX puts too much space around equality = and other relation symbols. I realise that I can brace symbols, e.g. typing ${=}$ instead of $=$. However, this goes too far in the other direction, and anyway, spacing is context-dependent. For instance I might want this to typeset this = with less space

$x=5$

and this = to typeset with more space

$longexpression = evenlongerexpression$

Similarly for other relation symbols and binary operators.

My question is: is there a latex typesetting package that will intelligently automate some of this (even if human judgement may be required in some cases.)

Thank you.

I find that LaTeX puts too much space around equality = and other relation symbols. I realise that I can brace symbols, e.g. typing ${=}$ instead of $=$. However, this goes too far in the other direction, and anyway, spacing is context-dependent. For instance I might want this to typeset this = with less space

$x=5$

and this = to typeset with more space

$longexpression = evenlongerexpression$

Similarly for other relation symbols and binary operators.

My question is: is there a LaTeX typesetting package that will intelligently automate some of this (even if human judgement may be required in some cases.)

Source Link
Jim
  • 165
  • 3

Improve spacing around equality = and other math relation symbols

I find that LaTeX puts too much space around equality = and other relation symbols. I realise that I can brace symbols, e.g. typing ${=}$ instead of $=$. However, this goes too far in the other direction, and anyway, spacing is context-dependent. For instance I might want this to typeset this = with less space

$x=5$

and this = to typeset with more space

$longexpression = evenlongerexpression$

Similarly for other relation symbols and binary operators.

My question is: is there a latex typesetting package that will intelligently automate some of this (even if human judgement may be required in some cases.)

Thank you.