Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lsquare

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 30, 2010
Long story short, I have a brand new M1 MBA. I come from a Windows background so very limited MacOS experience.

I intend to mostly use the MBA at home. As a result, I don't really want to set up a login/password. My Windows desktop is set up where after I press the power button, it'll go straight to the desktop. Is this possible with a Mac? I recall if I were to turn it on the first time, it'd ask me to create a username/password.

My understanding is that the MBA can only output to one display. What if I have the lid closed? I know that MacOS scales differently with resolution than Windows. I have the two following monitors at home. How will this look? Sharp or fuzzy text? Is the M1 MBA capable of supporting 4K/144hz output?

How do I install apps not from the app store? In Windows, I just click on the .exe file and then go through the prompts. What about on the Mac?

Maybe not the place to ask, but is it possible to create a bootable Windows 10/11 with a USB drive plugged into the MBA? Ideally, this is possible and then I can take the USB drive to go and do a clean install of Windows.

Is Google Chrome running natively on Apple Silicon or it's still in emulation?

Is it possible to take all the tabs, bookmarks, and history that are in Chrome and transfer them to Safari?

Is anyone here using Chrome and Safari simultaneously or I should stick with Safari for the best possible experience?

Is anti-virus necessary? Even on my iPhone, I only install apps from the App Store and I never open email attachments. I only deal with email attachments on my Windows desktop.

Are keyboard and mouse commands largely the same between Windows and MacOS?

Last edited:

MBAir2010

macrumors 604
May 30, 2018
there