Hometown Hero | Nick Criner

Whether the players are dribbling on the fast break or netting free throws, the Lakers team wouldn’t be complete without their coach Nick Criner.
Published: Mar. 15, 2024 at 6:06 PM EDT

SCOTT DEPOT, W.Va. (WSAZ) - Whether the players are dribbling on the fast break or netting free throws, the Lakers team wouldn’t be complete without their coach Nick Criner.

“He’s a great coach, he’s a great person. Not only is he our coach, he’s like our best friend,” player Mason Sutherland said.

Nick isn’t your average coach, though. At just 19 years old and having just graduated from Winfield High School, Nick volunteered his time to be the head basketball coach of the Upward Lakers at Good Shepherd Baptist Church, all while taking classes at BridgeValley Community and Technical College.

While some people his age may be going out with their friends, Nick is on the sidelines coaching the Lakers to victory and their championship game.

Coaching without the expectation of being rewarded

“I just like to be a nice person. You know there’s not really , it’s rare to see a nice person nowadays so I guess if you can be one of those you’re different from everybody else so that’s why I do it,” Hometown Hero recipient Nick Criner said.

He’s all about giving the players an assist on the qualities of being a team player on and off the court.

“If someone’s not feeling the best helping them out, just be nice. That’s what everyone says but not everyone does it, so that’s why I try to get them to do it and they all do it well. They are very close as a group” Criner said.

To the Lakers he’s coach but to his mom Alexandra Criner he’s just Nick and she couldn’t be more proud to call him her son.

“I think this is one of the best things that he’s ever done. To learn how to be a role model to others and to support the kids and the team and to work with them. I think he has been very rewarded in that. I have seen a big change in his confidence level and just in his sense of self-worth. He gets a lot from working with the kids,” she said.

Even though the final buzzer has finally sounded on this season, Nick says it was an experience that he wouldn’t sub for the world.

“It’s shocking. I still can’t believe I’m standing here right now, it’s pretty awesome,” he said. ” I am going to miss them so much. You know, I try to do as much as I can with them. We have a pool party planned at my house this summer. I am going to miss it a lot; it’s amazing.”